Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2013, 05:22 PM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default McDSP AAX 64bit Windows?

What's the deal with McDSP AAX 64bit Windows? "A 64-bit Windows release will be coming shortly" has been on their web site for 4 months now and no News nothing?
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell Precision T1500 Minitower
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-860 (2.8GHz,8MB)
Memory: 32GB (4 X 8GB)
SanDisk 480GB SSD
AVID: Digidesign Digi 003 Console
Pro Tools 2018.10

Portable:
Model: Acer Aspire E5-575
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-6200U
Memory: 12GB
SanDisk 256GB SSD
AVID: Fast Track C400
Pro Tools 12.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2013, 05:29 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,962
Default Re: McDSP AAX 64bit Windows?

Let's call this the question of the day.

Sleepy times at McDSP.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2013, 09:22 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: McDSP AAX 64bit Windows?

Lost my enthusiasm for McDSP when I discovered I had no upgrade path, and would have to buy everything again if I wanted WIN 7 compatibility. And I don't miss them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2013, 10:48 PM
nikhilmulay nikhilmulay is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: mumbai
Posts: 169
Default Re: McDSP AAX 64bit Windows?

Looks like Windows users are not a priority for them. I had the same issue when i bought v5 licenses. It took them more than 6 months to come up with Windows licenses.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2013, 12:40 AM
ChazC ChazC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne (UK Ex-pat)
Posts: 415
Default Re: McDSP AAX 64bit Windows?

Yep, they've lost ,my respect I'm afraid. I won't be buying anything else McDSP.
__________________
Chaz

Shifting Sands Audio
www.shiftingsandsaudio.com
soundcloud.com/shiftingsands

Asus X79 Deluxe | i7 4930K @ 4.1 | 32Gb Ripjaws CL9 GBLZ | Radeon R5 230 | Win7 Pro (64) | 256Gb Samsung 850 SSD | 2x 1Tb Seagate SATA | 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD | 128 Samsung SSD | Antec 650W | ProTools 11.3.2HD, 10.3.9HD, 12.5 | Cubase 9.0.20 Pro | Nuendo 8 | Studio One 3.2 Pro | RME UFX | 2x Octopre Mkii Dynamic | Alphatrack | DTouch | Logitech G510 | Kensington Trackball | Yamaha UX256
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2013, 01:05 AM
southboundloco's Avatar
southboundloco southboundloco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 356
Default Re: McDSP AAX 64bit Windows?

+1000
__________________

Pro Tools 11.2
Pro Tools 10.3.9
REAPER

MPTK2
ProFire 2626
Benchmark DAC1
Neumann KH 120 A
Avid Artist Mix
ASUS Sabertooth Z77, Intel i7-3770K CPU OC'd@4.7GHz, 32 Gigs RAM
Mac OS X 10.9.3 Mavericks


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2013, 02:01 AM
persuader's Avatar
persuader persuader is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: McDSP AAX 64bit Windows?

agree!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2013, 11:28 AM
Pie Hole Sound Pie Hole Sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 66
Default Re: McDSP AAX 64bit Windows?

I used to love this company, but their disingenuous "coming soon" line along with the production and release of new plugins (Mac only - Windows coming soon!) before the release of AAX64 Windows versions has changed that. They posted on their Facebook page that all of their engineering efforts are focused towards the Windows AAX64 versions. If that had been the case, no new products would be released before the Windows versions were done. They clearly sacrificed the release of Windows AAX64 version and prioritized the new Mac-only (Windows coming soon!) product releases.

Going forward, I'll not buy Windows McDsp plugs on the promise of future upgrades - only after the new versions are released and available. To do otherwise apparently is just a ticket for the subsidization of Mac version development first.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2013, 12:32 PM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,187
Default Re: McDSP AAX 64bit Windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikhilmulay View Post
Looks like Windows users are not a priority for them. I had the same issue when i bought v5 licenses. It took them more than 6 months to come up with Windows licenses.
I have to agree. It took forever to release V5 for Windows and it looks like it's going to take at least that long for Win AAX64.

In the meantime lotsa nice new Mac plugs and iPod toys....

__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 5.963
RME, Daking, ISA, Sytek, BLA

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2013, 01:05 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: McDSP AAX 64bit Windows?

Am I being really dumb?

As far as I can tell, all McDSP plugins are v5 (AAX 64bit), and available for the Windows OS, apart from :

6020 Ultimate EQ

AE400 Active EQ

SPC2000

What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
McDSP AAX for Windows now available !!! smfelton AAX Plug-ins 1 11-22-2013 11:44 PM
No 64bit McDSP Chrome-tone..Substitutes? Tim R. Pro Tools 11 4 07-17-2013 10:56 PM
Windows 64bit Citizen_M Pro Tools 10 5 04-29-2012 10:07 PM
McDSP / PT8LE / Win 7 64bit nickremmert 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-27-2010 10:45 AM
Does PT 7.3.1 not run on Windows XP 64bit? Neruk Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 01-14-2008 12:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com