Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-10-2013, 03:06 PM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: Perfect Hackintosh Build?

buy The Pro Tools PC - I ran it as a hackmac with Pt11 - see next months Audio Media for a full review. A most tasty machine. Job done. Next?
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-10-2013, 03:22 PM
roboman01 roboman01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Wauchula
Posts: 151
Default Re: Perfect Hackintosh Build?

Not trying to be a smartarse but if you guys would have read what I wrote I said I must have the perfect Hackintosh Build....I have been building my own hackintoshes since the switch to intel....
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-10-2013, 07:10 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,669
Default Re: Perfect Hackintosh Build?

Could be - what's the hardware list ? B/c as far as I'm concerned I have the perfect hack mac build
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-10-2013, 07:20 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Perfect Hackintosh Build?

not to pull this off topic but has anyone done a laptop Hackintosh for Pro Tools?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-10-2013, 08:02 PM
WombatStudio.Org's Avatar
WombatStudio.Org WombatStudio.Org is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Gibbsboro, NJ
Posts: 530
Default Re: Perfect Hackintosh Build?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
I know there are some people that are really happy with their Hackintoshes, and I know it's possible to get great stability with one. I'm just scared to try it, because it seems like it would be a time vampire.
Only buy parts listed here: http://tonymacx86.com/

Been running AWESOME over a year now (since last August).
__________________
WombatStudio.Org • Digital Recording, Mixing and Mastering in Gibbsboro, NJ • USA
"It's not the gear ... it's the ear"
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-10-2013, 08:37 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,669
Default Re: Perfect Hackintosh Build?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
not to pull this off topic but has anyone done a laptop Hackintosh for Pro Tools?
I know of no one that is doing that at this time

This is here and or at Tony Mac's forum

And this is a strictly a laptop hackinTosh with ProTools not happening most people are just going for the power of the desktop
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-11-2013, 11:04 AM
kelco83's Avatar
kelco83 kelco83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: houston
Posts: 140
Default Re: Perfect Hackintosh Build?

I have a hackintosh asus zenbook prime. Works great. I dont use it for protools though.

I don't think this is the best forum for this type of question.
__________________
Intel 4770K Hackintosh 16GB 128 SSD 770 GTX PT10 11 rack
Mac mini ivy bridge i5, apogee quartet, PT10, 11 rack
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-11-2013, 11:23 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Perfect Hackintosh Build?

I need a new portable system and I want to be able to dual boot it and I want a 17"+ screen.
Apple is not offering anything bigger than the 15" anymore (well new anyway).
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-11-2013, 11:28 AM
kelco83's Avatar
kelco83 kelco83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: houston
Posts: 140
Default Re: Perfect Hackintosh Build?

Do your diligence then, find out what laptop is going to work before you jump in. There are certain ones that will be extremely easy to work with and some that straight up won't work.

I would say just use windows unless you have a compelling reason to not use it like your interface is mac only.

If thats the case then, why do you need such a large screen? I have recorded with my 11" 1080p screen on my zenbook and saw everything just fine. ITs not about screen size more than it is about resolution. You wont get any more screen space between 11" and 17" running the same resolution.
__________________
Intel 4770K Hackintosh 16GB 128 SSD 770 GTX PT10 11 rack
Mac mini ivy bridge i5, apogee quartet, PT10, 11 rack
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-11-2013, 11:57 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Perfect Hackintosh Build?

I know, it's about how far away the screen can be/showing thing to other people
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why yes, this is the successful Hackintosh build thread! Dism Pro Tools 10 466 11-23-2013 12:07 PM
New Build Review! Based on Mano/Ame? and SPCR Fanless build Calipoop Windows 4 11-16-2011 10:38 PM
Hackintosh on my rig? Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 07-01-2011 04:26 PM
Hackintosh Help HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-16-2010 11:45 AM
Help me build the perfect pro tools Computer Kalen Ross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 01-13-2009 02:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com