Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2009, 09:17 AM
rpantzer rpantzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
Default Record with ProTools running 33.3% slower

I am recording a project that I temporary need to slow down 33.3%.
I know how to record in half speed. But is it possible to choose the slowdown time? If I remember correctly I have done this in the past.

I use Pro Tools HD 7.3 with a Sync HD.

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2009, 11:35 AM
jeremiahmoore jeremiahmoore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 469
Default Re: Record with ProTools running 33.3% slower

You might be able to accomplish it with a combination of VSO and half-speed-record.

-jeremiah
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2009, 12:40 AM
rpantzer rpantzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: Record with ProTools running 33.3% slower

I tried doing that, but didn't get the correct speed.
Does anyone know how to calculate semitones into percent of the speed?

I think there is another way to do this, I just cant figure it out!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2009, 06:28 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: Record with ProTools running 33.3% slower

I found these useful calculators:

http://www.sengpielaudio.com/calculator-centsratio.htm

Using one of them results in slowing Pro Tools by 702 cents, which is just over 7 semitones. 48k minus 33.33333% is almost exactly 32k. I always wondered why Pro Tools did not include 32k as a session sample rate.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2009, 07:55 AM
rpantzer rpantzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: Record with ProTools running 33.3% slower

Too bad you can only set down the VSO 3 semitones.
Any other suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2009, 01:55 PM
DHiggins DHiggins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Greater Los Angeles
Posts: 33
Default Re: Record with ProTools running 33.3% slower

you can easily accomplish this in another session. I assume your intent is to speed it up and have a pitched up source in sync with regular session

If you are doing this against picture, then get your picture people to get you a copy of your pic and guide track running at 2/3rds speed.

(If you can't get them to do that, there are other ways to slow down your guide track)

Then open new session (normal settings) and record your content with slowed picture and ref audio. If you have a window tc burn, it's now obviously irrelevant.

When you are finished, place head and tail pops or something in line with the guide track and consolidate (you really don't have to consolidate). Save session, and close.

go back to your original session.
and "import session data"
choose your tracks (including the guide track for reference)

"Check" the "apply SRC" option and choose "custom" on "source sample rate". Change that rate to 72000 (48000 is 2/3rds of 72000)

make your conversion quality best or tweak head

import the tracks and use the guide track to nudge in sync...and you now have your new pitched up audio in sync with original.

i know i wrote this bumbly, but posting while saving a session over network.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2009, 05:38 PM
Serge Perron Serge Perron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 142
Default Re: Record with ProTools running 33.3% slower

Quote:
I am recording a project that I temporary need to slow down 33.3%.
I know how to record in half speed. But is it possible to choose the slowdown time? If I remember correctly I have done this in the past.
The Pitch'nTime audiosuite plug-in could also do it. The equivalent to SRC in Pitch'nTime is varispeed mode, where the pitch isn't corrected for the speed change.

Quote:
Using one of them results in slowing Pro Tools by 702 cents, which is just over 7 semitones.
Pitch'nTime made essentially the same calculation: 66.666667% pitch change = -7.02 semitones.

Serge
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Record mode is getting slower? thesilverfoxx macOS 8 04-06-2011 09:23 PM
New Monitors - Slower ProTools ??? Intersound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 28 08-14-2010 01:23 PM
Running Mac ProTools files on Windows ProTools DJ_Invisible_Man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-16-2009 05:07 PM
Protools 8 LE on slower G5.... ilulilu888 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-11-2009 01:47 AM
RUNNING PROTOOLS 7 ON MAC OSX CANT RECORD ANYMORE" shownuff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-22-2006 12:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com