Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2019, 06:43 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,279
Default Tech Question re : mix tweaks

Anyone know if the tech exists yet for me to do mix tweaks here in the UK that an artist in (say) the US can hear in real time?

I've been doing remote mixing for many years: uploading a first pass, receiving tweak list, uploading second mix, etc..,which works fine. But occasionally some of the tweaks are so non-specific. I've just had one that says, "Can you raise the x a bit" ...which might can mean anything from 0.5B to 4dB, depending on who you're talking to. It would be amazing to get them on FaceTime and say, "Right here you go...check this out right now...!"


Mods : Please move this to the appropriate forum if this is the incorrect place for it!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2019, 06:48 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,087
Default Re: Tech Question re : mix tweaks

Cloud Collaboration, anyone?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2019, 06:54 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: Tech Question re : mix tweaks

Without the other person owning Pro Tools

i.e. they hear the mix running live through their speakers, just a 2-track, nothing too fancy. Sometimes I have to mix stuff that's come from Logic users (I know, perish the thought).

Obviously the answer is still "no", isn't it. As you were.

Last edited by midnightrambler; 06-23-2019 at 07:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2019, 07:33 AM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 468
Default Re: Tech Question re : mix tweaks

Source Connect from Source Elements is exactly what you want
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
Nashville / NYC

MKD Creative

HOBO Audio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2019, 08:59 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: Tech Question re : mix tweaks

Quote:
Originally Posted by diamondschwin View Post
Source Connect from Source Elements is exactly what you want
Thank you so much
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2019, 09:31 AM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 153
Default Re: Tech Question re : mix tweaks

Listento

the listener simply uses IE explorer
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 10.10. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 10.10. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-2019, 09:47 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,640
Default Re: Tech Question re : mix tweaks

Rogue Amoeba Audio Hijack broadcasting to Shoutcast or Icecast should do what you want.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-23-2019, 12:12 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,149
Default Re: Tech Question re : mix tweaks

ConnectionOpen and ipPDTL and Source-Connect Now are options.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2019, 03:11 PM
Michael James Michael James is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 132
Default Re: Tech Question re : mix tweaks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Rogue Amoeba Audio Hijack broadcasting to Shoutcast or Icecast should do what you want.
Hi Rich,

For years I've been successfully using Nicecast. At end of life, I cross graded to Audio Hijack based on the online documentation that claimed I could broadcast from my local server with static IPs. Long story short, Rogue Amoeba tech support told me this is "neither recommended nor supported." So... I keep a dedicated laptop on El Capitan specifically to stream live from my console. Still works great, but I'd like to keep up with the changing times.

Do you know if there is a suitable *free* Shoutcast or Icecast solution that you recommend? I stream 2-4 hours/day, 5-6 days/week, so I don't want to get hammered with broadcast fees.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.
__________________
Michael James
michaeljamesproducer.com
www.IndieProMix.com

System info: PT Ultimate 2019.6 HDX, Mac Pro 5,1 Westmere, OS 10.13.3, UAD2 Octo PCIe, 2x Lynx Aurora16 w LTHD cards, 1x Lynx Aurora(n) 32 ch analog I/O DigiLink, 4x Dangerous Convert-8 (AES via Lynx), Dangerous Convert-2 (AES via Lynx), Dangerous Vonvert AD+, Apogee Big Ben, SSD boot drive, external FW800 audio drives
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-27-2019, 05:28 PM
dwaynedelario dwaynedelario is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 356
Default Re: Tech Question re : mix tweaks

Audiomovers. Plugin on the master, creates a link for the client to click and listen through a browser.

If you don't need timecode/transport functionality, skip Source Connect. Its expensive and a technological nightmare. I work in scoring and remote sessions have failures every single time.
__________________
----------------------------------------------------
HDX2 / OS X 10.12.6 / Mac Pro 2012 40GB RAM
ProTools Ultimate 2019.6
Avid OMNI+Artist Mix
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
m-box mini question not tech at all !!! hotrodrick General Discussion 4 11-16-2009 03:34 PM
I fried my 001! (tech question) Vedat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-23-2003 10:00 PM
tech question Zoolander 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-16-2002 04:30 PM
HD Tech Question the dude Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-28-2002 08:06 PM
Mac tech question rschweng Digidesign Hardware & Software 5 05-06-2001 11:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com