Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2016, 10:01 PM
Rajsmoove Rajsmoove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: US
Posts: 29
Default HDX 1 card in mac pro slot 3

Has anyone not installed the HDX card in slot 2 right above the video card in a mac pro 5,1?

I recently upgraded my video card to a 5770 which sits right against my HDX card in slot 2 and since then the HDX fan stays running. It used to be quiet and now its running non stop. Wondering what would happen if I moved it up a slot.

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2016, 10:42 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,912
Default Re: HDX 1 card in mac pro slot 3

Hey Buddy

I would put the HDX card in Slot 1 or better yet slot 3

The video card in slot 4 first or slot 2 second. Seem to work better that way for years of trial and error
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2016, 10:50 PM
Rajsmoove Rajsmoove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: US
Posts: 29
Default Re: HDX 1 card in mac pro slot 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Hey Buddy

I would put the HDX card in Slot 1 or better yet slot 3

The video card in slot 4 first or slot 2 second. Seem to work better that way for years of trial and error
Thx for the reply.

So you have your hdx card in slot 1? I always thought the video card had to be in 1 no matter what.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2016, 10:54 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,912
Default Re: HDX 1 card in mac pro slot 3

I think we have both our HDX cards on the Mac Pros in Slot 1 or 3. You can swap and see where your Mac likes the combo best, nothing will break.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2016, 10:58 PM
Rajsmoove Rajsmoove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: US
Posts: 29
Default Re: HDX 1 card in mac pro slot 3

Will try and report back. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2016, 05:41 AM
Peter Duemmler Peter Duemmler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Neuwied, Germany
Posts: 780
Default Re: HDX 1 card in mac pro slot 3

I tried the same in my 4.1, 5770 in slot 1, HDX in slot 3, and I had problems with the fans and mysterious audio problems (bitcrushed sound). I put the HDX back in slot 2 and all is well.
Be sure to use the correct power slot for the cards, too!
__________________
http://www.merlinsound.de
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-21-2016, 11:07 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,234
Default Re: HDX 1 card in mac pro slot 3

While slots 3 and 4 are X16 mechanical, they are only X4 electrical.
Only Slots 1 and 2 are both X16 mechanical, and electrical.
Slot 1 must have the graphics card, as it double wide.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2016, 02:24 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,106
Default Re: HDX 1 card in mac pro slot 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
While slots 3 and 4 are X16 mechanical, they are only X4 electrical.
Only Slots 1 and 2 are both X16 mechanical, and electrical.
Slot 1 must have the graphics card, as it double wide.
Still, it doesn't matter. Old HD cards were x1 and new HDN/HDX cards are x4
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-11-2016, 10:04 PM
Rajsmoove Rajsmoove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: US
Posts: 29
Default Re: HDX 1 card in mac pro slot 3

So to report back, I moved the card up a slot and all seems to be working well after a day. The fan tornado is gone and haven't had any weird things occur. If anything changes ill be sure to update the thread!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-11-2016, 10:52 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,912
Default Re: HDX 1 card in mac pro slot 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rajsmoove View Post
So to report back, I moved the card up a slot and all seems to be working well after a day. The fan tornado is gone and haven't had any weird things occur. If anything changes ill be sure to update the thread!
Thanks for the update, fingers X'd you have found the 3rd slot working best as we have and that you will have a stable system again

Best Wishes
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDX card in PCIe slot 4 agrizzlybear Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 05-05-2012 11:52 PM
Which slot for SCSI card? bigfrog Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-13-2005 04:49 PM
G4 upgrade, the Six Slot Problem, where to slot the Digi001 interface card H E A D W E R K ' N 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-14-2002 09:15 PM
M -Box on card slot USB KSZY 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-14-2002 03:21 PM
AM III Card in magma 7 slot snoopy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-09-2000 05:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com