Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 02-12-2015, 02:34 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,663
Default Re: Has Pro Tools 11.3.1 helped?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanos4 View Post
thanx for trying it out...
pretty sure that's avid fault...same system same plugs (all updated to last version)...
They did "something" from 11.2.2 and later which causes the crashes...
11.2.1 is sooooooo rock solid!!!!!even in my yosemite 10.10.2 test drive...
thank again
Can't see how you can say this is Avid's fault because if it was a LOT more people would be having issues.

As an addendum - I tried the same thing in the OSX 10.8.5 partition and the OSX 10.10.1 partitions and no crashes. Interesting thing I noticed is that when run in the OSX 10.8.5 partition cpu usage was down on an average 5 percentage points (meaning it ram from 7% to about 20% cpu usage as shown in PT11.3.1) from the OSX 10.9.5 partition test and ram usage was down 6 percentage points as well (14% ram usage versus 20% ram usage in OSX 10.9.5). When ruin in the OSX 10.10.1 partition I got the same usage specs as the OSX 10.9.5 test.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-12-2015, 04:56 PM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Default Re: Has Pro Tools 11.3.1 helped?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Can't see how you can say this is Avid's fault because if it was a LOT more people would be having issues.

As an addendum - I tried the same thing in the OSX 10.8.5 partition and the OSX 10.10.1 partitions and no crashes. Interesting thing I noticed is that when run in the OSX 10.8.5 partition cpu usage was down on an average 5 percentage points (meaning it ram from 7% to about 20% cpu usage as shown in PT11.3.1) from the OSX 10.9.5 partition test and ram usage was down 6 percentage points as well (14% ram usage versus 20% ram usage in OSX 10.9.5). When ruin in the OSX 10.10.1 partition I got the same usage specs as the OSX 10.9.5 test.
Ok….see this image:
I PAY…. and i paid from version 7..so i am not a new boy in town and i know what is happening…
Everything works from day 1 (regading version 11) ….from version 1 till 11.2.1 ….sooooo ????after all these years and experience,i tell you it's their fault….end!!!!
So simple…..
Here….we try to find solutions for us users…
don't be so cruel…this is for us….
other users have other problems….this does not mean that they are dong something wrong…..but imagine that you have an application that is is supposed to be working in a thousands pcs and macs with thousands of variations regarding hardware etc etc….
And once more…here in this forum…we try to help each other ….
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-12-2015, 06:03 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Has Pro Tools 11.3.1 helped?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanos4 View Post
Did you tried loading them in 11.2.1?

I think if they were corrupted probably they wouldn't load...download the dmg again...

I was going to test 11.3.1 tonight clean install and see if I can reproduce. May try downloading the DMG again if it keeps happening. I think I started my tests on ML with 11.2.1 which ran solid, which npromptted me to try yosemeti. I'll keep plugging away, no projects right now, so this takes it's place.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-12-2015, 06:42 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,663
Default Re: Has Pro Tools 11.3.1 helped?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanos4 View Post
Ok….see this image:
I PAY…. and i paid from version 7..so i am not a new boy in town and i know what is happening…
Everything works from day 1 (regading version 11) ….from version 1 till 11.2.1 ….sooooo ????after all these years and experience,i tell you it's their fault….end!!!!
So simple…..
Here….we try to find solutions for us users…
don't be so cruel…this is for us….
other users have other problems….this does not mean that they are dong something wrong…..but imagine that you have an application that is is supposed to be working in a thousands pcs and macs with thousands of variations regarding hardware etc etc….
And once more…here in this forum…we try to help each other ….
I am trying to help when I say it doesn't happen to me and a lot of others; just a scant few have crashing issues when looping. If others had it I'm sure Avid would have jumped on a fix yesterday. Experience/length of time using PT doesn't enter into it. Having a clean supported system helps with a lot of issues and those that run outside of that can expect to have troubles others don't have.

Maybe if Avid had a locked-in hardware (computer/software/interface) system like a Playstation or XBox there wouldn't be these issues. When a myriad of possible systems exist - expect problems. Avid can't possibly test on every possible hardware combo out there.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-12-2015, 08:53 PM
Rajsmoove Rajsmoove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: US
Posts: 29
Default Re: Has Pro Tools 11.3.1 helped?

11.3.1 has been running great for me over the last 2 days. Haven't had any errors and running at a 32 buffer on my HDN system on a 5,1 6core MP. Even recorded some extra harmonies with a full mix going. Haven't seen any crazy spiking so I'm happy so far
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02-13-2015, 11:26 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Has Pro Tools 11.3.1 helped?

Excellent. Good news. At least 11.3.1 does not seem to be worse.

Yes, please let us know the results of your future tests,
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 02-14-2015, 06:17 AM
hooksound hooksound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 240
Default Re: Has Pro Tools 11.3.1 helped?

No, 11.3.1 didn't help much here. Must say that there are still many annoying bugs in PT11. It is especially frustrating, that one has to remix old sessions because of odd behavior in PT11.

PT10 is at your service and that's fine, but one does not gain much from the highly acclaimed new features in PT11 by having to revert to the old version all the time.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.10, Cubase Artist 7.5.40, Allen & Heath Qu-16, Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 2G, Fujitsu Lifebook AH532, Intel Core i7-3612QM, 8 GB RAM, Windows 7 Professional SP1 64 bit
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 02-25-2015, 04:44 AM
holler holler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 161
Default Re: Has Pro Tools 11.3.1 helped?

This is probably old news but, I un-ticked "Video Engine" "Enable" and my CPU-usage went from 95% to 30-40%. I've never tried it before, but it seems to help a lot

br

EDIT: we can probably scratch that, seems to have been temporary, but feels like it helps a little
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-02-2015, 03:34 PM
s0nguy s0nguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 718
Default Re: Has Pro Tools 11.3.1 helped?

this is now happening to me as well.

I did two days worth of systematic troubleshooting and it turns out Stylus was causing the crash... I emailed Spectrasonics and they said that Digi is aware of a crash 7 minutes into a session and it isn't only Spectrasonics plugins... big help.

It crashes only when Stylus is on my session. I have even downgraded from 11.3 to 11.2

anyone have ideas?

retina iMac 3.5 i5
16gb
PT 11.2.2
osx 10.10
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 03-02-2015, 04:27 PM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Default Re: Has Pro Tools 11.3.1 helped?

Quote:
Originally Posted by s0nguy View Post
this is now happening to me as well.

I did two days worth of systematic troubleshooting and it turns out Stylus was causing the crash... I emailed Spectrasonics and they said that Digi is aware of a crash 7 minutes into a session and it isn't only Spectrasonics plugins... big help.

It crashes only when Stylus is on my session. I have even downgraded from 11.3 to 11.2

anyone have ideas?

retina iMac 3.5 i5
16gb
PT 11.2.2
osx 10.10
only solution for now is to go back to 11.2.1 (everything works with this version)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You guys helped once, please help again: swirling noise 11R Newbie Eleven Rack 22 06-24-2012 05:42 PM
Thank you to all who have helped today.... stevegrisham 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-15-2004 03:02 PM
HELPED NEEDED PLEASE CHRS Tips & Tricks 3 10-30-2003 08:37 PM
How can you penalize who helped you grow? MAXIMUSIC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 33 09-17-2003 08:05 AM
To all who have helped: thanks & hallelujah!! athlone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-11-2002 10:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com