Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:44 PM
#6 #6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 13
Default MIDI drums

Ok, I've been recording MIDI for some time now, entering drum parts on a midi keyboard controller. Now, these parts are, to put it plainly, not as good as what I'd get from a good real live drummer. Can anyone offer some tips or books to read to point me in the right direction for making more realistic drum parts (for especially something like a dynamic drum fill). Any words of advice are much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2007, 10:04 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: MIDI drums

Read my friend jstunner's post on the subject.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2007, 01:54 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: MIDI drums

Quote:
Can anyone offer some tips
...and if your lazy.






filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2007, 08:40 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: MIDI drums

Or if you've already got a decent sounding drum synth and don't want to spend the money on and time to learn Strike (I think it's a bit of a learning curve, and also quite proprietary), you can try the MIDI grooves at Groove Monkey. Drop them in to a track triggering a drum synth and cut/copy/paste to your heart's content.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2007, 07:59 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: MIDI drums

Quote:
Groove Monkee
Indeed. Yes, some very interesting Pre-Mapped Packages to be had there (including GM maps) ...and the Grooves are un-quantized, so their just the way the drummer intented them to be (Dymanics and Timing).







filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-24-2007, 02:09 PM
#6 #6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 13
Default Re: MIDI drums

Thanks for the advice. The thread you pointed me out to is great. I also recently received a book I had ordered that demystifies quantize features a bit for me. This will at least get those finger drum performances tight. As far as fills go, I think my approach will be to take down the tempo briefly while I punch in a measure where I will enter in the fill with my fingers on the midi keyboard. Then I will go back and edit the dynamics where necessary to make the fill more characteristic of an actual drummer's performance. I will try this a bit and see how it works. I probably lack the patience to pencil drum parts.
I am considering buying the groove monkee world beats library because I have yet to come up with a convincing (hand) percussion track. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-19-2007, 11:37 AM
luckylukedg luckylukedg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 16
Default Re: MIDI drums

get BFD!
as it has midi files recorded by real drumers, and the program is like having a real drum kit in a studio.

works well with groove monkee too. and will play back your own patterns...

l.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding MIDI drums to acoustic drums - Velocity Pat.m Pro Tools 11 5 11-01-2013 09:40 PM
Can't drag midi into midi/instrument track from os or ezdrummer/addictive drums NJ Soul macOS 7 05-28-2011 11:09 AM
Calling all that write/program midi drums by hand in the Pro Tools midi editor. Mikey Ace Virtual Instruments 2 10-05-2008 08:14 PM
midi drums funkbutt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-03-2008 07:10 PM
Drums to midi mixerboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-03-2003 11:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com