Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2015, 10:56 AM
Sausage Mexicane Sausage Mexicane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Wetley Rocks, UK
Posts: 1
Default Recording MIDI cymbal chokes

Having recently put my new setup together (see system spec for details) I am starting to record the MIDI drum track for my first song, but notice that the cymbal chokes that I recorded (and could hear on the monitor mix during recording) do not sound choked on playback, i.e. the full cymbal decay can be heard instead. I'm using Roland V-Drums with a Roland TD-8 drum module and I'm using this as both the trigger to MIDI interface and for playback of the drum sounds. I guess this may have something to do with the MIDI setup in Pro Tools (input filter?) but otherwise I'm a bit stuck. I can't work out from the TD-8 manual, which MIDI parameter (controller?) relates to cymbal choking and how to make Pro Tools record this data. Can any of you clever people please help me out?

PS I know I could get round this problem by editing the MIDI data and replacing the un-choked crash sounds with choked ones, but being a 'real' drummer, I want to get this correct at source.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2015, 11:07 AM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Default Re: Recording MIDI cymbal chokes

i had this issue once...and if i remember i "solved" it by deleting the aftertouch from midi editor...For some reason it recorded totally wrong data
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2015, 09:13 PM
Oli P Oli P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 579
Default Re: Recording MIDI cymbal chokes

I have the same problem...and the data is "polyphonic aftertouch".
It sounds right during recording, but at playback nothing happens.

In the midi event list, I made sure the polyphonic aftertouch is not filtered, but it still won't play the chokes.

The polyphonic aftertouch data in the midi event list, shows it to be 000 ...and if I change those values manually to 127 it will choke...but will also choke all the other un-choked notes it is supposed to leave alone...

Bottomline...a useless mess
__________________
www.olipoulsen.com

iMac27 i9 3.6 (late 2019) / 64 GB Ram / OS 10.15.7
Apollo 8 / PT Ultimate 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2015, 05:30 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,165
Default Re: Recording MIDI cymbal chokes

Have any of you tried posting ab out this over on the Vdrums.com forum? Might want to give that a try. Primarily a Roland forum.

http://www.vdrums.com/
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 Chokes bad on Midi keyboard input MusicByDesign Pro Tools 10 10 07-10-2015 11:01 PM
What does the length of a midi cymbal note really do? DC-Choppah Tips & Tricks 9 01-07-2013 07:03 PM
G5 dual chokes while recording and Power Book does Coastside Music 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 08-20-2006 10:43 PM
protools chokes on midi program change rslander MIDI 3 07-06-2006 07:57 PM
Creating a MIDI trigger from an acousitc snare/cymbal? j20056 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-24-2002 05:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com