Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2021, 04:27 PM
Oli P Oli P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 579
Default is it possible to import edit list from one sample rate to another?

Hi guys

I have a project in 88.2 but my system has a problem with my Apollo at the moment, so it can't play back in 88.2
Is it possible for me to copy the project down to 44.1 and do edits...and then be able to import that edit list back in to the 88.2 later when my playback problem is resolved?
__________________
www.olipoulsen.com

iMac27 i9 3.6 (late 2019) / 64 GB Ram / OS 10.15.7
Apollo 8 / PT Ultimate 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2021, 04:41 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,490
Default Re: is it possible to import edit list from one sample rate to another?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oli P View Post
Is it possible for me to copy the project down to 44.1 and do edits...and then be able to import that edit list back in to the 88.2 later when my playback problem is resolved?
Yes, You can do a Save Copy In and change your sample rate in that window and copy/convert all the audio files to a new session. Then later you can Import->Session Data from that session back to the original session choosing Copy From Media Source and Apply SRC with the original sample rate. You just select the tracks you want to pull back into the original session and it should convert the files with the edits in place.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2021, 04:52 PM
Oli P Oli P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 579
Default Re: is it possible to import edit list from one sample rate to another?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
Yes, You can do a Save Copy In and change your sample rate in that window and copy/convert all the audio files to a new session. Then later you can Import->Session Data from that session back to the original session choosing Copy From Media Source and Apply SRC with the original sample rate. You just select the tracks you want to pull back into the original session and it should convert the files with the edits in place.
Thanks for the reply ...but my whole point is to keep my 88.2 audio in my main session, and just do the edits in the copied session with the lower sample rate...and use it as a proxy to do the edits...and then be able to use my 88.2 audio with my edit list from the copied 44.1 session
__________________
www.olipoulsen.com

iMac27 i9 3.6 (late 2019) / 64 GB Ram / OS 10.15.7
Apollo 8 / PT Ultimate 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2021, 02:22 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,490
Default Re: is it possible to import edit list from one sample rate to another?

Oh ok , you don't want to use the converted audio which makes sense. You might be able to do it by creating the 44.1 session using Save Copy In, do your edits, then do another Save Copy In back to 88.2, then copy the original 88.2 files into that session. The risk is that Pro Tools might not recognize the original audio files and won't automatically relink them. You might be able to manually relink them which could be tedious if you have a lot of wave files, but there's no guarantee Pro Tools will even let you do that. Then you're looking at pulling the files into the session and Spotting them - a real pain and kind of defeats the purpose of your edits to begin with. That's how I see it at least, maybe someone else has a better idea?
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2021, 08:48 AM
_JJ_ _JJ_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 112
Default Re: is it possible to import edit list from one sample rate to another?

Could you not just use built-in audio / headphones to do your edits so you don't need to jump through all those hoops?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2021, 10:35 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,879
Default Re: is it possible to import edit list from one sample rate to another?

I haven't personally done this, but I suspect if you made certain your root filenames (as opposed to clip names) are all unique, then you could import the edited 44.1 tracks into your 88.2 session and when the relink dialog comes up disable the "File ID" search criteria, point it to the 88.2 file folder and let it find the files and relink from there.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2020 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2021, 07:02 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,490
Default Re: is it possible to import edit list from one sample rate to another?

Quote:
Originally Posted by _JJ_ View Post
Could you not just use built-in audio / headphones to do your edits so you don't need to jump through all those hoops?
Yeah, that'd be the simplest way!
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.12.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Select sample rate of audio to import -V7? Karl Engel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-05-2010 11:59 AM
import audio WITHOUT sample rate converting? wwittman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-21-2009 05:25 PM
Sample Rate Convert on Import Changes timestamp? Eric L Post - Surround - Video 5 05-22-2008 07:39 PM
Sample rate conversion using import Audio gtole Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 03-17-2003 09:14 AM
Audio import sample rate conversion P Oskam Tips & Tricks 0 12-03-2001 08:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com