Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2013, 12:39 PM
deepfrequencies deepfrequencies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 22
Default Grr.. Link Timeline Edit Track Edit Timeline Selection confusion

Remember how you used to be able to playback in Pro Tools and make edits while the music was playing back continuously? I've either changed some setting that I can't figure out or Digi has changed the transport behavior, but I can't seem to be allowed to playback and touch any region, MIDI note, etc without the playhead jumping to where I touch.

Yes, if I turn off Link Timeline and Edit Selection I can make edits whilst PT playsback continuously, but then it only plays whatever is selected in the timeline and I can't use the hand or selector tool to pick a new place to start playback from. I have to click up in the timeline to pick a new location for playback with Link Timeline and Edit Selection turned off.

Incidentally, this problem happens with Insertion Follow Playback (aka the "N" button) on or off.

I know I used to be able to play audio and make edits at the same time and then pick new places to start playback without having to click in the actual timeline up top, now I can't. Any idea what I've done to get this behavior?

Any thoughts, ideas, hints, or comments appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2013, 03:03 PM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Grr.. Link Timeline Edit Track Edit Timeline Selection confusion

make sure dynamic transport is turned off...
e
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2013, 08:12 AM
deepfrequencies deepfrequencies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 22
Default Re: Grr.. Link Timeline Edit Track Edit Timeline Selection confusion

Yes, that did it. Thank you!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2014, 02:40 PM
audiofreak11 audiofreak11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 39
Default Re: Grr.. Link Timeline Edit Track Edit Timeline Selection confusion

I know that I am replying to an old thread, but I felt compelled to add a thank you, because this simple tip just ended my frustration. I was having the same exact problem as in the original post, and couldn't figure it out.

So your old post helped someone else, lol. Thank you!
__________________
Regards,

Chris
ProTools 12.7
Mac OSX 10.12.2
Intel iMac 3.4GHz i7 (late 2012) with 32GB RAM
Digi 003r
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Link Timeline And Edit Selection in PT8 - help..! richie Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 02-09-2009 09:15 AM
link timeline and edit selection not working binetron 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-14-2007 01:35 AM
Link Timeline & Edit Selection Problems The Dougfather 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-21-2006 11:48 AM
Link Edit and Timeline Selection logandrum Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-06-2005 06:16 AM
Link Edit and Timeline Selection logandrum Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-05-2005 11:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com