Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2012, 03:46 PM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 466
Default Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection - no effect in 10.3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by meech View Post
I've just uninstalled 10.2 and installed 10.3... I'm running into a strange issue.

I usually work with dynamic transport enabled and Link Timeline and Edit Selection enabled. It seems to be operating differently in 10.3. Making an edit selection (or timeline selection) would create a loop, and move the play cursor to the beginning of the selection/loop. I could then move the play cursor to another location if I wanted to (I usually don't want to) by clicking somewhere in the play cursor's lane or fast forwarding/rewinding.

This is no longer working. When I make an edit selection or loop a section, the play cursor does not move along with it, instead it stays where it used to be. This could get very annoying and time consuming very fast if every time I want to loop the third chorus I would have to separately move the playback starting position from the first verse.

Is there a new option to revert this back to normal? Am I missing some new option or is it a bug? I'm going to have to revert back to 10.2 if there isn't a way to fix this.

Thanks for the help :)
Thanks to meech for writing about this in the following thread:
Avid release PT 10.3 for mac and windows
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=328019&page=4

Several people on the thread have asked for this problem to be discussed in its own new thread, which I have started here.

The tick box Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection in Preferences/Operation seems to have no effect.
Anyone else having this problem?

A workaround I'm using is:
Deselect the Link Timeline and Edit Selection blue icon.
Select a clip or part of a clip.
Keyboard shortcut alt+Shift+5 (Mac) Option+Shift+5 on numeric keypad (Windows).
__________________
Catalina 10.15.6
Pro Tools 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2012, 06:52 PM
relaxo relaxo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection - no effect in 10.3?

This is so serious that it kills any other good reason to go to 10.3. I switch "Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection" constantly on and off as part of the way I work PT.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2012, 08:35 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Default Re: Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection - no effect in 10.3?

works here as expected.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2012, 09:32 AM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 466
Default Re: Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection - no effect in 10.3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix Rost View Post
works here as expected.
Thanks Felix.
Operating system details?
__________________
Catalina 10.15.6
Pro Tools 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2012, 10:13 AM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 466
Default Re: Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection - no effect in 10.3?

I've just tried PT 10.3 with a fresh install of Mountain Lion 10.8.1.
Same problem!
__________________
Catalina 10.15.6
Pro Tools 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2012, 10:55 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Default Re: Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection - no effect in 10.3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard901 View Post
Operating system details?
PT HD 10.3 | Mac OS 10.6.8 | Mbox 2 | Mac Pro 1.1 - 2 x 2,66 GHz Quad-Core Xeon | 12 GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-17-2012, 11:45 AM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,555
Default Re: Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection - no effect in 10.3?

I have seen this on Windows since PT7. I have traced down to the fact that there are two ways to activate this preference. One in in the prefs menu and the other is using Keyboard Command Focus while hitting the N key.

Both of these must be the same before changing the other. Once that is done the pref works as expected for me.

Is this what you are speaking of? If not, I have not seen this particular bug on any version of PT10 on OSX or WIN.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-17-2012, 02:21 PM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 466
Default Re: Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection - no effect in 10.3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix Rost View Post
PT HD 10.3 | Mac OS 10.6.8 | Mbox 2 | Mac Pro 1.1 - 2 x 2,66 GHz Quad-Core Xeon | 12 GB RAM
Thanks Felix.
Mac OS 10.6.8 - same as mine.
__________________
Catalina 10.15.6
Pro Tools 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-17-2012, 02:27 PM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 466
Default Re: Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection - no effect in 10.3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris75 View Post
I have seen this on Windows since PT7. I have traced down to the fact that there are two ways to activate this preference. One in in the prefs menu and the other is using Keyboard Command Focus while hitting the N key.

Both of these must be the same before changing the other. Once that is done the pref works as expected for me.

Is this what you are speaking of? If not, I have not seen this particular bug on any version of PT10 on OSX or WIN.
Thanks very much Kris75.
I've tried the N shortcut, but I still have the same problem.

The N shortcut is:
Toggle the Timeline Insertion/Play Start Marker Follows Playback preference on and off.

The Preference causing the problem is:
Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection
__________________
Catalina 10.15.6
Pro Tools 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-17-2012, 08:50 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,555
Default Re: Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection - no effect in 10.3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard901 View Post
Thanks very much Kris75.
I've tried the N shortcut, but I still have the same problem.

The N shortcut is:
Toggle the Timeline Insertion/Play Start Marker Follows Playback preference on and off.

The Preference causing the problem is:
Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection
Ahh. It works as expected for me on all versions of PT10. I work on both Mac and PC, but I have not tried Mountain Lion as of yet.

Forgive me for the basic question, but have you trashed your Databases, Prefs (including emptying your trash and restarting)?

Have you tried removing all plug ins except for the included PT plugs?

It would seem to me to be a local session pref. I have seen strange things with local prefs and most of them were related to Quicktime. If I had no version of Quicktime installed the local prefs would not be saved. If I had an old version installed they would constantly be corrupted.

If I was you, I would download the latest version of QT. Pro Tools remembers what version was installed in the prefs section, so If you just install the new version, PT will still think you have the old version installed. That is why I wondered if you have trashed your prefs/databases, emptied the trash, then restarted. It's extremely important to restart after emptying the trash.

Then install the new version of QT, than start PT.

I am just taking shots in the dark here, but If it works, why not. It's obviously related to local prefs being corrupted.


Also, what scrolling options are you guys using?
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timeline Selection End Marker Always Defaults to 8 Seconds Gilliss Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 05-21-2010 07:31 AM
TIMELINE SELECTION MARKER??? craigdwlr Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 11-12-2007 09:03 PM
Timeline Selection Marker error S.L.R 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-25-2007 01:22 PM
Play/Edit Marker stopped following the timeline selection stern 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-22-2007 11:50 PM
Play/Edit Marker stopped follow timeline selection stern 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-22-2007 11:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com