Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2016, 07:36 AM
TheMightyQuinn TheMightyQuinn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mill Valley, CA
Posts: 32
Default Sonarworks Speaker Calibration

Hello,

Anyone have experience with setting up Sonarworks Speaker calibration tool using an AVID HDX/OMNI combination?

When I launch the Sonarworks calibration tool, I'm not being presented with an HDX audio engine option as a source and/or output device. There is a Pro Tools Aggregate option, but I can't get audio to pass through that at all. The only audio I can get to pass through the Sonarworks tools is the 'Display Audio' which is not the correct audio path as it will not properly initialize the Sonarworks tool.

I opened a support ticket with Sonarworks. They say... "You should be able to find the Avid Omni in our calibration software, but you need to make it available for outside of Pro Tools. I believe there is something like "PT mode" or a similar checkbox to enable or disable that. Please note, that you must be in 44.1Khz during calibration and please switch direct monitoring off, otherwise the software will have problems locating your microphone."

I'm unfamiliar with "PT mode" or where to access or configure that or how to set 44.1Khz outside of Pro Tools. Is there a Pro Tools Aggregate configuration option somewhere? I've never had need to use the aggregate option.

In a follow up email, Sonarworks said regarding Avid Omni/HDX, "I know it to be a problematic interface with our software." Not exactly what I want to hear after plunking down a couple hundred dollars.

I have Sonarworks Headphone calibration tools and that works flawlessly. Was hoping to add some of that to my monitoring setup.

Any help or assistance anyone could share would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Greg
__________________
=-=-=-=
Apple Late 2013 Mac Pro 6-core 3.5Ghz, 6,1, 64Gb RAM, D500 Graphics, Internal / boot 500Gb Apple SSD, 250Gb M.2 NMV recording disk, 2x1Tb (RAID 0) M.2 NMV sample disk, UAD-2 OCTO PCIe, Various external spinners as backup drives, High Sierra 10.13.2, Pro Tools 2018.7 HDX, AVID Omni HD, Chandler Ltd. Microphone Cassette Channel Strip, Audioscape G Comp Compressor, 2 x Hairball FET A, Slate VMS, Slate Raven MTi2, Two-Notes Torpedo Reload.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2016, 01:09 PM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 425
Default Re: Sonarworks Speaker Calibration

What OS? Are you able to use the CoreAudio AVID driver that SW is looking for?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2016, 09:11 PM
TheMightyQuinn TheMightyQuinn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mill Valley, CA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Sonarworks Speaker Calibration

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Hepworth View Post
What OS? Are you able to use the CoreAudio AVID driver that SW is looking for?
Bingo, Matt! I forgot that I had removed the CoreAudio as it was messing with my machine's shutdown. Thanks for rattling the ol' bag of beans!

Reinstalled the CoreAudio plug, restarted and viola! All is good!

BTW... my system info is in my signature...
__________________
=-=-=-=
Apple Late 2013 Mac Pro 6-core 3.5Ghz, 6,1, 64Gb RAM, D500 Graphics, Internal / boot 500Gb Apple SSD, 250Gb M.2 NMV recording disk, 2x1Tb (RAID 0) M.2 NMV sample disk, UAD-2 OCTO PCIe, Various external spinners as backup drives, High Sierra 10.13.2, Pro Tools 2018.7 HDX, AVID Omni HD, Chandler Ltd. Microphone Cassette Channel Strip, Audioscape G Comp Compressor, 2 x Hairball FET A, Slate VMS, Slate Raven MTi2, Two-Notes Torpedo Reload.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2016, 11:51 PM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 425
Default Re: Sonarworks Speaker Calibration

Cool! Tapatalk doesn't seem to show signatures, so please forgive me that one. ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2016, 10:17 AM
TimLatham TimLatham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 10
Default Re: Sonarworks Speaker Calibration

Where did you find the coreaudio plugin? I'm having the same problem you had but with an HD I/O. I have the coreaudio utility, but not the plug that resides in library/audio/plugins/hal.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2016, 02:52 AM
bing181 bing181 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default Re: Sonarworks Speaker Calibration

Same problem here CoreAudio Manager just crashes every time it opens, either within Sonarworks or if I try and open it independently.

Mac, PT 12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sonarworks Users Becharax General Discussion 0 10-30-2015 12:14 AM
cinema rear speaker calibration level for DCP garnoil Post - Surround - Video 5 03-31-2015 01:55 AM
ASIO4Alll audio is computer out of computer speaker and not rear speaker willl3 Windows 6 07-31-2012 10:50 AM
Aggregate I/O Built-in Speaker causing speaker to crack and pop andrewkeithly macOS 2 01-27-2012 11:10 AM
Calibration zzstation Post - Surround - Video 3 08-09-2011 10:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com