Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:03 PM
davidkain davidkain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Default Problem creating new session

Hey guys,

I'm running ProTools LE 6 on OSX, and am encountering a problem creating a new session.

When I go to save the new session (and thus begin it), I am faced with the following message:

"Session must be on an audio record volume."

Any suggestions? I'm sure I'm missing something simple, but I can't for the life of me figure out what it is.

Thanks in advance.

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:26 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Problem creating new session

This is an FAQ.. check the drive is set up as a record drive in the Workspace Window.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:46 PM
dancow dancow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Problem creating new session

I am having the same problem, and am unable to find a satisfactory answer in the FAQ. I've posted in another string and don't want to cross post, so you can see details here:

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...ev=#Post843695
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2005, 09:01 PM
davidkain davidkain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Default Re: Problem creating new session

I've checked the FAQ, but I'm experiencing the same problem, still. For reference, this is the entry:


----
This can happen for different reasons.
1) Check hard drives in the workspace (in Pro Tools, go to the Windows menu and choose 'Show Workspace') and make sure the ( A ) column to the right of the drive is set to ( R ) and not ( T ) or ( P ).
2) Trash the Digidesign Databases folder on all hard drives.
3) Trash Pro Tools preferences files. USERS/username/library/preferences/Pro Tools preferences
4) If you have run the "restore" or "reinstall" of OSX and choose the save applications and files option, Pro Tools will not function correctly upon being restored, one symptom would be the error as noted in the subject "The drive cannot be designated as an Audio playback/recording volume because this is not a valid audio volume" Solution is to run the uninstaller from the Pro Tools 6x CD, repair disk permissions on the drive (use the Apple Disk Utility located in MacHD>Applications>Utilities) and reinstall. Pro Tools at that point reacquires the drives as record volumes.
----

My drives are, indeed, labeled as ( T ) instead of ( R ), but it won't let me switch them, classifying them as unacceptable for recording.

Weird.

Hope to find an answer soon.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2005, 10:24 AM
dancow dancow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Problem creating new session

OK, so I've done everything on the FAQ, and I also re-formatted my drive. However, I was unable to re-format the drive as 'Unjournaled'. The drive is a Hitachi 372.6 GB ... wonder if there is a firmware issue.

Anyway, it still isn't working and I am dead in the water.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2005, 10:50 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,766
Default Re: Problem creating new session

You've reformatted using the OSX Disk Utility as Mac OS Extended?

You should also use the Disk Utility to repair permissions on your system hard drive.

If that doesn't fix it, consider using a system utility like Cocktail or Onyx to run cron scripts and clean caches on your computer.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-2005, 02:44 PM
davidkain davidkain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Default Re: Problem creating new session

Issue resolved. Thanks for all the help! (this was an issue with Tiger OSX for me, which fixed itself with the newly released patch)

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating New Session From Old mrgroovy Pro Tools 10 1 05-07-2013 04:45 PM
Problem opening a session or creating a new one.. pepenacho2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-22-2008 05:55 PM
creating fades while session is playing - problem agus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-05-2007 03:36 PM
Creating a new session Tom Glander 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-18-2005 09:46 PM
Creating a session template in XP renda Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 06-21-2005 02:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com