Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2010, 04:15 PM
LynxAudio LynxAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Default Help Using Templates?

I am a fairly unsophisticated user of PT. I recently recorded 24 tracks of a multiday festival and am now digging the tunes out and mixing them down.

Each day had a different band. So, what I thought I should do is load in the tracks for a song, work out a good mix with comps and eq and such as needed. Label all the tracks for that band and then save it as a template.

So far so good. I started a new session for the second song and I got a PT session will all the tracks labeled and all the FX in the right places and the mix right.

Now I can't figure out how to add the wav files to the right tracks. If I import it, it want to create new tracks which defeats the whole thing.

So, I feel like I am missing something basic... Help?
__________________
Staying out of Trouble
Is Easier than
Getting out of Trouble
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2010, 08:32 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,601
Default Re: Help Using Templates?

You're almost there. When you import AUDIO, you should get a box asking whether the new audio goes to new tracks, OR the Regions bin. Select the regions bin and the then drag each region from the bin onto the appropriate track(works for me all the time). If the regions bin has regions listed BEFORE you import Audio, clear them first to avoid confusion.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2010, 03:08 PM
LynxAudio LynxAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: Help Using Templates?

Thanks! That did it
__________________
Staying out of Trouble
Is Easier than
Getting out of Trouble
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Templates!!! juca2929 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-24-2008 01:44 PM
Templates Brad Newman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-19-2007 05:58 PM
templates in PT7 8thnote Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-16-2006 12:40 PM
Templates BenTerry 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-13-2004 08:37 AM
OMF bug using templates !! Helgonet Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 12-10-2003 03:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com