Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2017, 04:55 AM
clemens clemens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ticmusic vienna
Posts: 34
Default PT12.7HD/Sierra/Dual Monitors BUG !!

Maybe someone can help me with this please

Clean install Sierra 10.12.3 on MacPro(mid2010)
2x 2,4 GHz Quad/32GB Ram1066MHzDDR3 Graphics NVIDIA Quadro K5000
No Problems with Graphics dual Monitors and all other Apps in Sierra

EXEPT PT HD 12.7 with NativeCard/Sync HD(firmware all uptodate)

BUG: In PT12.7 if you drag any open window (plugin/send/mixer,...) to the second monitor it loses content and becomes white - after bringing back to main monitor it stays empty till you reopen it !

Any Idea ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2017, 06:34 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: PT12.7HD/Sierra/Dual Monitors BUG !!

Hi. I've had this once in OS 10.12.3 (PT's HD12.7).
2nd monitor PT's open windows going Black (Reminiscent of the Pro Tools 10 in OS 10.10.x)

Seemed tied to Apples "Saved State"- Reopening Screenflow after logout.
I use a Radeon HD 7950 card and have not been able to reproduce.

Checked or reinstalled NVIDIA and Cuda drivers aligned with OS?
Checked Pro Tools Prefs (Operations tab) Video settings?

It's back with either NVIDIA GTX 1080 or AMD 7950 and 3 monitors
Note after changing cards all was well with AMD for a week or so.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

APFS 90% 10% Audio on Both
(HFS+)
Pro Tools U-2019.12 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
New builds:
12 core nMP HDX 1 Slot 5 stock HDX Mac mini 6pin to 4 pin HDX power like 5,1 mp's used)
16 core nMP rack

Last edited by DetroitT; 08-21-2017 at 02:41 PM. Reason: update for 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2017, 06:57 AM
clemens clemens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ticmusic vienna
Posts: 34
Default Re: PT12.7HD/Sierra/Dual Monitors BUG !!

Hi - yes I checked and reinstalled latest NVIDIA drivers for 10.12.3

meanwhile I could solve the problem -

Reinstalled Yosemite 10.10.5 - same hardware - PT 12.7 HD graphic Bug is gone

thanks for reply

greets
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2017, 08:38 AM
Rodrigue Amyot Rodrigue Amyot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Montréal
Posts: 3
Default Re: PT12.7HD/Sierra/Dual Monitors BUG !!

Same thing here
Pro Tools 12.7.1
OS X 10.12.4 Sierra
All clean install

I dont really want to go back to Yosemite for other reasons.
I didn't try to reinstall the video driver wet but:

Anybody having the same problem ?
Did somebody opened a ticket with Avid ?

Rodrigue Amyot
Chef technicien- Instructeur Post Production Audio TV
Supervising Technician- Instructor Audio Post Production TV
Société Radio-Canada / CBC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2017, 05:07 AM
Macsearcher Macsearcher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 204
Default Re: PT12.7HD/Sierra/Dual Monitors BUG !!

I am having this exact problem as well.
If anyone finds out any info please post here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2017, 09:13 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: PT12.7HD/Sierra/Dual Monitors BUG !!

With 3 Displays, Dragging a floating window (Only in Pro Tools) currently 12.8.1
The Pro Tools Shell just turns white. Close and reopen in new position and the redraw is correct.
No other app shows this behavior.

Tried NVIDI 1080, when back to Sapphire Mac edition 7950

Anyone else?


"
Changed from Radeon 7950 Mac edition..

Almost no errors in Sierra it is a bit noisier 8 pin power draws from both Mac PCIe sources.
(I have the same splice for the HDX card so install was seamless."
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

APFS 90% 10% Audio on Both
(HFS+)
Pro Tools U-2019.12 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
New builds:
12 core nMP HDX 1 Slot 5 stock HDX Mac mini 6pin to 4 pin HDX power like 5,1 mp's used)
16 core nMP rack
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-2017, 11:20 PM
tsbroland tsbroland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Steinakirchen Austria
Posts: 9
Default Re: PT12.7HD/Sierra/Dual Monitors BUG !!

Same Here
Mac Pro late 2013, 4 monitor , OSx 12.5 protools 12.8.1

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2017, 07:23 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: PT12.7HD/Sierra/Dual Monitors BUG !!

Pro Tools Multi Display redraw issue / bug Video example.
09-07-2017

Video
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

APFS 90% 10% Audio on Both
(HFS+)
Pro Tools U-2019.12 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
New builds:
12 core nMP HDX 1 Slot 5 stock HDX Mac mini 6pin to 4 pin HDX power like 5,1 mp's used)
16 core nMP rack
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2017, 04:32 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 519
Default Re: PT12.7HD/Sierra/Dual Monitors BUG !!

Not on HD here, but had same bug.

Thanks to Macsearcher for the solution -

Use the same Color Profile on all monitors. It's just that easy.
__________________
Bob
"Without a song,
The day would never end..."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-2017, 11:16 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: PT12.7HD/Sierra/Dual Monitors BUG !!

√ "Use the same Color Profile on all monitors. It's just that easy. *****

Nice. Thank you!
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

APFS 90% 10% Audio on Both
(HFS+)
Pro Tools U-2019.12 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
New builds:
12 core nMP HDX 1 Slot 5 stock HDX Mac mini 6pin to 4 pin HDX power like 5,1 mp's used)
16 core nMP rack
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT12.5 on Mac os Sierra juh Pro Tools 12 12 12-18-2017 02:57 PM
Create session from template prob - PT12.7, Mac OS Sierra. oscar4072 Pro Tools 12 2 02-07-2017 08:34 AM
PT12.7 seems to be causing a Kernel Panic using Mac Sierra when shutting down Ed K Pro Tools 12 4 12-31-2016 09:40 AM
S3 IP address issue since Sierra/PT12.6 updates Tim R. Pro Tools 12 1 12-08-2016 12:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com