Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2008, 08:49 AM
rdolmat rdolmat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 433
Default Is the HD1 worth it?

Hi Folks...

I'm running PT LE 7.4 on my Mac Pro Quad and it's working GREAT! Got tons of plugins, ins and rewires going on....Latency set to 256 and the CPU meter is barely 10% (oh yeah, I've also assigned only 3CPU to Pro Tools, so I can use CPU#4 for video playback and other things)...

anyway...is it really worth it to lay down $10,000 for HD1 just to get auto delay comp and TDM plugs? Or is that a huge waste of money?

anyone else consider this?

thanks!
__________________

cheers,
rich
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2008, 09:17 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default

There's a lot more features that HD has over LE than the 2 things you listed. It also doesn't cost $10,000 for an HD1, it's closer to $5k for the card plus an interface.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2008, 09:38 AM
Sounds Expensive's Avatar
Sounds Expensive Sounds Expensive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 172
Default

HD1 is just under $8000.00 (not incl. an interface) on the Digi site . . . where are you shopping?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2008, 09:39 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default

If your work is video oriented than HD might make a lot of sense. It may sound like a pain but skimming the Pro tools Manual will reveal a tremendous amount of features that are HD only and videocentric.

The nice thing is with a modern computer you can get by with HD1 and run a ton of RTAS for your Plugs.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2008, 09:59 AM
nedd nedd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Europe-NL
Posts: 180
Default

Just look at the automation posibilities of HD and it will make it worth investments. Then you can really learn it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-30-2008, 10:11 AM
rdolmat rdolmat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sounds Expensive View Post
HD1 is just under $8000.00 (not incl. an interface) on the Digi site . . . where are you shopping?
I obviously also need an interface (96i/o)...and that's just under $2000...plus taxes...ummm..ok $9999 total.

I guess I can't use my Digi 002r with PT HD1...

THEN...it would be $8000.

anyway...who cares about the actual dollar amount..that's not the question here.
__________________

cheers,
rich
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2008, 10:12 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sounds Expensive View Post
HD1 is just under $8000.00 (not incl. an interface) on the Digi site . . . where are you shopping?
MSRP is a lot different that street prices. Any Guitar Center can get you an HD1 + interface for under $6k.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2008, 10:15 AM
rdolmat rdolmat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slim Shady View Post
MSRP is a lot different that street prices. Any Guitar Center can get you an HD1 + interface for under $6k.
Dang! Can you send me a link to that? I went to the Guitar Center website and they have NO HD systems listed...

thanks!
__________________

cheers,
rich
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2008, 10:20 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default

Don't forget expandability and customization. Start with one card and you get, I think, up to 32 in/out. Add a card (and the interfaces) and you're up to 64 i/o. Plus you are not stuck with Digidesign's A/D and mic pres, which with LE you have at least a couple of your inputs with Digi only hardware..

192 khz might matter to some as well...

Really just depends on what you use Protools for, which you haven't really explained...
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-30-2008, 10:23 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdolmat View Post
Dang! Can you send me a link to that? I went to the Guitar Center website and they have NO HD systems listed...

thanks!
I don't remember saying it was available on a website. Go to any Digi reseller, then you'll find out real prices. Digi enforces very strict rules about how their prices appear online (which is why most online stores that carry HD won't list ANY prices for it. i.e. Sweetwater's "Call us for special price") - perhaps making the gear appear to cost $10,000 is somehow in their marketing scheme, who knows, but that's the way they do it. You need to go talk to a authorized reseller, in person, in a store, and then you'll get an idea of what prices are actually like. I wouldn't necessarily recommend a Guitar Center either, I was just using them as an example that any old Digi reseller can get you HD for better than the prices you listed. Alto music in NYC is my favorite Digi reseller, but generally I buy from whomever gives me the best price.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT7 worth getting? AM STUDIOS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-09-2005 04:49 AM
Is it even worth it Moodyscorpio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-30-2005 07:04 AM
002 worth it? vx2kfilmer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-02-2003 12:39 AM
P4 1.6 to P4 2.4 would it be worth it? BenjaminC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 04-10-2003 05:13 PM
OS 9.0.4 to 9.1 - is it worth it? Mike F 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 03-08-2001 08:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com