Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2019, 07:09 AM
Nicotroidemi Nicotroidemi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Montreal
Posts: 10
Default How to import/convert a PT9 session ?

My PT11 doesn't open a PT9 session, which I could understand. But how can I convert or import it ? Can't find any option in menus.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2019, 08:23 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 384
Default Re: How to import/convert a PT9 session ?

PT 11 should open a PT 9 session just fine. I just opened a PT 7 session with PT 2018.12 and it opened fine. Except for a few plugins that weren't compatible.

Did you actually try to open the older session or did you just assume it wouldn't work?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2019, 08:25 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,069
Default Re: How to import/convert a PT9 session ?

Is the audio SDII?
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2019, 08:29 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 384
Default Re: How to import/convert a PT9 session ?

side note. If the audio is SD2. You can use PT10 to open the 9 session and convert the files .wav or aiff.

If you've purchased the 9 upgrade to 11 you most likely have 10 in your Avid account since they gave everyone the triple licenses with that upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2019, 07:54 PM
Nicotroidemi Nicotroidemi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Montreal
Posts: 10
Default Re: How to import/convert a PT9 session ?

Thanks guys for your answers.

Yes I tried to open them but the message says Pro Tools couldn't open because file has been created in an older version. It's not SDII but .wav files in these PT9 sessions.
To be exact, on the 10 songs the producer sent to me, my pro tools opened just two of them. The 10 songs where created by the producer on the same templates.

I still can go with AAF exports but it's very limitative.

I upgraded from 8 to 11 a few years ago. I have access to PT 10 in my Avid account. I'll download and try.

I'm on a macbook pro and Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2019, 08:00 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 384
Default How to import/convert a PT9 session ?

Share the session file only. No audio. To see if it can be opened elsewhere. It might be corrupt.

Also, none of those versions of PT are compatible with High Sierra. Just an FYI.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want to Import Wav - Not Convert Galadriel Windows 1 04-27-2012 09:37 AM
import and convert stevegalante Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-13-2008 04:39 PM
convert+import ? 44.1>48 ? itz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-19-2002 09:14 AM
Import and Convert Xopher Tips & Tricks 2 05-13-2001 12:07 AM
5.1 - Where's Convert and Import?? jdh95 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-22-2001 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com