Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2010, 03:27 PM
hyperballad400 hyperballad400 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10
Unhappy WAV file won't open in Pro Tools - reporter on deadline!

Hi there,
I'm a reporter for NPR (on deadline!) and I have used, I believed, the same configuration every time I have done reporting and this has never previously happened. I have an HHB Flash Mic, I pull the files off, and import into Pro Tools. This time, I believe a setting was changed on the mic and the files will not import. These new files do not open in iTunes -- however, they do open in Quicktime.

Older files that I recorded with the same mic are importing just fine. I took a look at the settings of the 2 files, and here are the differences:

New, non-opening files:
Bit rate: 160 kbps
Channels: 1 (mono)
Audio Sample Rate: 44 kHz

Old, functioning files:
Bit rate: 705 kbps
Audio sample size: 16 bit
Channels: 1 (mono)
Audio Sample Rate: 44 kHz
Audio Format: PCM

Note that 2 of the attributes -- audio format and audio sample size -- were not given at all in the new files.

Any help is greatly, greatly appreciated.

Many thanks -
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2010, 03:40 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,248
Post Re: WAV file won't open in Pro Tools - reporter on deadline!

Judging by the recording times listed here, it sounds like you were set to Linear PCM before but switched to MPEG1 Layer 2 at some point.

Maybe their software can convert the files, otherwise, if you say they will open/play in QuickTime you could possibly convert them to AIFF or WAVE using QuickTime Pro.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2010, 03:52 PM
cubivore cubivore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: houston tx
Posts: 87
Default Re: WAV file won't open in Pro Tools - reporter on deadline!

also the 'movie info' or clip inspector in QT might reveal the file attributes. i always find this useful for finding out framerates and other info about video files.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2010, 04:23 PM
Kirby B. Kirby B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 519
Default Re: WAV file won't open in Pro Tools - reporter on deadline!

Not that knowledgeable in this domain, but you said you were on a deadline. QT Pro will let you export the files, I think, like JC of Avid said. best of luck and go, NPR!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2010, 06:05 PM
hyperballad400 hyperballad400 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10
Default Re: WAV file won't open in Pro Tools - reporter on deadline!

thank you all for your input. brilliant move to actually take a look at the mic recording times -- i have a hunch that may be it. in a pinch, i have a music engineer friend who has some fancy program for saving the files.
thank you again, and if anyone else comes along the thread and has other thoughts, they are also very appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2010, 04:22 PM
hyperballad400 hyperballad400 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10
Default Re: WAV file won't open in Pro Tools - reporter on deadline!

FYI...
Running the files through Quicktime Pro and exporting them there worked... when NONE of my engineer friend's fancy software could. Thanks all again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2010, 04:52 PM
slickrick slickrick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Posts: 184
Default Re: WAV file won't open in Pro Tools - reporter on deadline!

Audition is a good side-app to have in these cases.

Sometimes those flashmics, in various users' hands and locations, adopt some pretty unique settings!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 won't open session file (Created on a newer version) sjafarzadeh Pro Tools 10 5 07-16-2014 12:03 PM
Pro Tools M Powered Can't Open File BRakestraw Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 12-01-2009 07:42 AM
Cannot open Pro Tools session file ephraim_malsawma Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 05-09-2009 01:58 AM
Pro Tools file crashed on open. Mack Damon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-08-2005 10:51 AM
How do I open a Digital Performer file in Pro Tools 5.0? jeffjuliano Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-06-2000 07:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com