Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2007, 05:18 PM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 928
Default MBox MINI or MBox Classic (Original)

Just got an IBM X31 Laptop. Cute little 12". It has 1GB and a 1.4 Pentium M Centrino. I plan on getting a Firewire External drive. Which would be a better choice to get - The Original MBox or the MBOX mini? I already have a Digi 001 running Pro-Tools 6.1. The benefit of getting a Classic MBox would be direct transfer and portability. Of course with the MBOX MINI, I'd get PT 7.3. Could a 1.4 PM keep up with 7.3 for light track work (maximum 12 tracks in a session)?


Please help. Thanks.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" (Mid 2014)
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
Pro-Tools 12
2.5GHz i7 Quad Core
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2007, 12:34 PM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: MBox MINI or MBox Classic (Original)

What do you mean with direct transfer and portability? Mbox mini must be easier to carry around than the original Mbox and they're both able to run the same software. The mini only records one channel at a time though if my memory serves me correctly.
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2007, 12:51 PM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 928
Default Re: MBox MINI or MBox Classic (Original)

What I meant was the MBOX MINI is smaller, lighter and MORE portable than the MBOX. When I said "Transfer", I meant that since my MAIN system is a DIGI 001 running PTLE 6.1, I could edit it directly using 6.1 and an MBOX on the go without having to worry about the conversion involved when working with two versions of the same software. If I was to edit my files on the go using PTLE 7.3, I probably couldn't dump it into my main system since it's running 6.1.

On the other hand however, my Laptop's processor is a COZY 1.4 Pentium M (which they say is comparable to a P4 running at 2.8 gHz) and has 1GB (I can upgrade it to a max of 2GB). Would that be too slow to run PTLE 7.3?? My main system has a P4 1.8 gHz processor with a 533MHz FSB and has never choked up in a session, even with 32 tracks and at least 10 AUX tracks. Then again, that was running PTLE 6.1
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" (Mid 2014)
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
Pro-Tools 12
2.5GHz i7 Quad Core
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2007, 12:52 PM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 928
Default Re: MBox MINI or MBox Classic (Original)

Also, the MBOX MINI canNOT run PTLE 6.1. Support for PTLE with an MBOX MINI starts at 7.1.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" (Mid 2014)
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
Pro-Tools 12
2.5GHz i7 Quad Core
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-24-2007, 04:07 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,771
Default Re: MBox MINI or MBox Classic (Original)

I think I would go with a MINI as it it gets you in essence a free upgrade to 7.3 an new ignition Pack etc. But the fact that you are limited to 6.4 on the 001 needs to be considered also. A Original Mbox would let you run 6.4 or upgrade to 7.3 if you so desired.

As far as i know you can record both channels with a MINI although only one has a Mic Pre.

Frankly my MINi is a dongle......
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-24-2007, 06:41 PM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 928
Default Re: MBox MINI or MBox Classic (Original)

Thanks for the info, but my question is IS A 1.4 GHz PENTIUM PROCESSOR EFFICENT ENOUGH TO EFFECTIVELY RUN PRO-TOOLS 7.3 WITH AN MBOX MINI. I HAVE 1GB OF RAM (should I upgrade to 2GB?)!

Thanks
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" (Mid 2014)
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
Pro-Tools 12
2.5GHz i7 Quad Core
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-24-2007, 07:28 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,771
Default Re: MBox MINI or MBox Classic (Original)

Quote:
Thanks for the info, but my question is IS A 1.4 GHz PENTIUM PROCESSOR EFFICENT ENOUGH TO EFFECTIVELY RUN PRO-TOOLS 7.3 WITH AN MBOX MINI. I HAVE 1GB OF RAM (should I upgrade to 2GB?)!

Thanks
Upgrade to 2 GB-1 GB is marginal these days.

No one can really guarantee what a older laptop will do but a year or so ago or so the Pentium M laptops were doing better than a lot of the P4 Desktops.

You should be fine.

That said.

Laptops and PT are notoriously finicky though.

You might want to search the DUC and the "Best laptops for PTLE" threads with your computers model number and see if it turns up any info.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-24-2007, 07:43 PM
casperfun casperfun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 489
Default Re: MBox MINI or MBox Classic (Original)

Quote:
Thanks for the info, but my question is IS A 1.4 GHz PENTIUM PROCESSOR EFFICENT ENOUGH TO EFFECTIVELY RUN PRO-TOOLS 7.3 WITH AN MBOX MINI. I HAVE 1GB OF RAM (should I upgrade to 2GB?)!

Thanks
My 1.6 centrino laptop can run 36 tracks easily on PTLE 7.3 if that helps. On my mbox2.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-25-2007, 01:09 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: MBox MINI or MBox Classic (Original)

For tracking purposes 1GB should be fine. If yuo use heavy plug-ins and/or VIs then you should def look into another 1GB.
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-25-2007, 02:44 AM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 928
Default Re: MBox MINI or MBox Classic (Original)

Are you serious? 36 tracks with 1.6? Okay, I guess I'll go for that MBOX Mini. Have any of you had any problems using old plug ins on Newer versions of PTLE? For example, I have Autotune 3. It works fine in 6.1, but Digidesign recommends upgrading to version 5 for PT7. I can't believe you were able to get that many tracks out of PTLE with a 1.6 Centrino.

This being the case, what's the hype of Dual Core and Quad machines? Is it just the larger amount of plug ins they could use with that power?
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" (Mid 2014)
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
Pro-Tools 12
2.5GHz i7 Quad Core
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Second hand original Mbox vs new Mbox 2 Mini east 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 05-09-2012 04:31 PM
Please compare original mbox to mbox mini... mbart 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-22-2009 01:04 PM
New Mbox 2 Pro 7.4 install - dead - 7.1 was fine with original Mbox - HELP! gbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-25-2008 07:18 PM
intel mac mini with original mbox? hoganguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-27-2007 11:56 PM
original Mbox vs. Mbox mini jojo wuzaman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-25-2007 08:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com