Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-13-2015, 02:15 PM
James Ray James Ray is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Covina, CA
Posts: 16
Default Re: El Capitan Support for Artist Series

Should I also wait to purchase a new computer which has El Capitan loaded? Should I wait to purchase the S3 and PT HD? Maybe I should wait until Avid comes out with their own OS...not going to happen. Why does it take 4 months? And btw where is Avid? Why don't they defend their actions?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-13-2015, 02:18 PM
James Ray James Ray is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Covina, CA
Posts: 16
Default Re: El Capitan Support for Artist Series

...and another thing, since we have time to spend, since our systems are down, maybe we are just burning off some steam. I hope that's okay!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-17-2015, 09:23 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,710
Default Re: El Capitan Support for Artist Series

i will give this a bump .. everything else seems to be running pretty good .. hopefully Kyle will return with an ETA ... those guys seem to be on it .. maybe hands are tied by Avid for fixes .. hope not
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-20-2015, 09:23 PM
Tim Sincere Tim Sincere is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: El Capitan Support for Artist Series

I recently bought an Artist Mix for my Pro Tools 11 and the display screens are not displaying information. I used my "free" ASC to open a support case a week ago, and have still not received any kind of status from Avid Support, not even to acknowledge the receipt of the ASC. (I had to go get this confirmation myself from the website.)
I've since deduced that the problem *may* be because of Avid's lack of support for El Capitan, but without acknowledgement from Avid Support, I'm just guessing. I really don't want to return the product, but without any confirmation of the root cause, or a timeline for a fix, I really don't have any choice. The problem may be something else, like a faulty unit, for example.
I've been a Pro Tools user for over 10 years (and I work in customer support for another high-tech company, so I get it), but Avid's Support is simply woeful. I would have moved off the platform years ago because of the poor Support if the Pro Tools product wasn't as brilliant as it is.
Avid is playing a risky game by assuming that all of their customers will be as loyal, patient and tolerant of poor service as me.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-22-2015, 10:43 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: El Capitan Support for Artist Series

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Ray View Post
Should I also wait to purchase a new computer which has El Capitan loaded? Should I wait to purchase the S3 and PT HD? Maybe I should wait until Avid comes out with their own OS...not going to happen. Why does it take 4 months? And btw where is Avid? Why don't they defend their actions?
This is not the place for an avid response.

"Considering the real-time nature of the Avid Forums, it is impossible for Avid to review messages or confirm the validity of information posted. Please remember that we do not actively monitor the contents of posted messages and are not responsible for any messages posted."
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-22-2015, 12:36 PM
Tone King Records's Avatar
Tone King Records Tone King Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 16
Default Re: El Capitan Support for Artist Series

Sorry Park, but I disagree. There are several people who work for Avid that check these boards regularly, & one of them has even replied to this very thread. I can't speak for anyone else, but all I really would like to see is a little transparency. If the people at Avid were honest with us about what was going on with the updates, it would be a completely different story for me. The product itself when working is great. If Avid changed their policy to one of transparency where they kept their customers appraised & up to date, I wouldn't feel like they didn't give a **** about me & that would also likely be the case with many others. It's called P.R. man. Their bedside manners SUCK. They remind me of our former Prime Minister. A little honesty & integrity go a long way with people & that is what is missing here. If someone from Avid would come on here & give an honest answer as to the situation, I would wait however long it took to update simply because they were being upfront about it. As it stands now, my Artist Mix & Transport are for sale on eBay along with my copy of Pro Tools & it's for no other reason than Avid's policies in dealing with their customers. Logic is a great program, comes bundled with a ton of great instruments, everything works flawlessly, so from now on I'm just going to turn down work that requires me to use Pro Tools & that will be that. OR Kyle or someone else can get their arse on here & MAN UP & let us know what is ACTUALLY going on. If I happen to see some concern & respect from them towards us, I might reconsider. I'll tell you one other thing too: If I was an Avid employee & saw what was happening here, you can be sure that I would take the issue to the highest levels to get the issue resolved & have the policy changed to one of transparency.
__________________
Jason Fryer

Guitarist - River City Junction
Producer - Tone King Records
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-22-2015, 12:44 PM
Wall2Wall Wall2Wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Starling City
Posts: 766
Default Re: El Capitan Support for Artist Series

This happens every year with a major OSX update. However long it took last year and the year before is the same time it's going to take this year. Avid, UA, Steinberg, and most others will take a few months as usual. Nothing new. Logic was even having issues with El Capitan until 2 days ago.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-23-2015, 04:56 AM
@tention @tention is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 167
Default Re: El Capitan Support for Artist Series

We have to admit that Apple's constant stream of updates that break audio software from VARIOUS manufacturer's is a pain for users and developers.

WHY APPLE WHY?
__________________
SOUND!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-24-2015, 06:44 AM
DaveDaveDave DaveDaveDave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Greater Baltimore/Washington D.C. Area
Posts: 28
Default Re: El Capitan Support for Artist Series

DOH. What was I thinking. Everything had been going so smooth for a while. I'd run the El Capitan developer releases on another machine for a few months with no problems, so I didn't think twice when my studio iMac prompted me with the El Capitan update. Phooey - now I have big blocks of OLED where I should see scribble strips.

Avid? Anything? I know Apple screwed us all over with Core Audio issues in this release, but they HAVE had this available to developers since June 8th, 2015.

At this point I've got to shop around for other control surfaces... those 10 year old clunky Mackie Control units are looking mighty appealing at this point!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-24-2015, 07:25 PM
Tone King Records's Avatar
Tone King Records Tone King Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 16
Default Re: El Capitan Support for Artist Series

Don't know if anyone else has seen this yet, but I just checked Avid's website & EuControl 3.3.2 for Mac OS X is out. Just did a very quick test in Pro Tools & Logic & it seems to work fine! Thank You Avid. That wasn't even that bad of a wait & if you guys had been candid about a time-frame, I'd have been ok to wait it out. Still not sure if I'm keeping it because of the lack of transparency though, but thank you nonetheless. At least now if I decide to sell, everyone will know that it's working! Here's a link to the update, you have to sign in to see 3.3.2

http://euphonix.avid.com/artist/ux/euphonix/artist_downloads.html
__________________
Jason Fryer

Guitarist - River City Junction
Producer - Tone King Records
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artist series, Eucontrol, Support: Sorry, I don't get it. OTARI Artist Series 15 08-09-2013 09:07 AM
artist series and mac osx 10.8? trock Artist Series 2 09-07-2012 06:01 AM
Artist Series vs C|24 Bill Denton Artist Series 2 01-30-2011 02:37 PM
CSCooper MCS Series vs EU Artist Series? GrievousAngel Artist Series 1 12-01-2010 02:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com