Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2012, 01:01 PM
blairl blairl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Posts: 1,084
Default Waves Will NOT Be Supporting AAX-DSP!!!

I sent an email to Waves today inquiring about any possible progress in supporting AAX DSP, and I received an email from the Customer Support Manager with a definitive answer.

Waves will not be supporting AAX DSP!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2012, 02:19 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: Waves Will NOT Be Supporting AAX-DSP!!!

Looks like Waves has gone from the definitive developer for professional audio to a consumer level outfit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2012, 02:40 PM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 732
Default Re: Waves Will NOT Be Supporting AAX-DSP!!!

It looks likes i will never buy a Waves product again!
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
http://immersivesoundvr.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2012, 02:47 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,714
Default Re: Waves Will NOT Be Supporting AAX-DSP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by The golfer View Post
It looks likes i will never buy a Waves product again!
+1 if this is true....
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2012, 03:19 PM
janmuths janmuths is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Byron Bay / Australia
Posts: 375
Default Re: Waves Will NOT Be Supporting AAX-DSP!!!

Bummer. Waves will regret this in the long run.

J.
__________________
2010 Dolphin Award for Production / Engineering

AVID Certified Instructor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2012, 03:25 PM
the glass is half empty the glass is half empty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Waves Will NOT Be Supporting AAX-DSP!!!

As a long-time Waves supporter and Mercury bundle user, this makes me very unhappy. I have been using the plug-ins as RTAS on my HDX rig and it's been going fine. However, I would love to use the full capacity of my system and I would like Waves to live up to their own marketing hype.

From http://www.waves.com/content.aspx?id=9416&l=4

Quote:
"You get the latest Waves versions, which means total compatibility with all major audio hosts and operating systems. And with your authorized iLok, you can move between Mac and PC, from Pro Tools to Logic to Nuendo and beyond—and back again."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2012, 03:44 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,389
Default Re: Waves Will NOT Be Supporting AAX-DSP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by the glass is half empty View Post
As a long-time Waves supporter and Mercury bundle user, this makes me very unhappy. I have been using the plug-ins as RTAS on my HDX rig and it's been going fine. However, I would love to use the full capacity of my system and I would like Waves to live up to their own marketing hype.

From http://www.waves.com/content.aspx?id=9416&l=4
Yes well read it carefully.

It says that waves will uphold the upgrade of their plugins for compatible daws. Once PT drops tdm, it nullifies the wup for dsp plugins as PT will no longer be compatible.

Here

Quote:
Waves Update Plan Policy

All Waves purchases and upgrades include one full year of Waves Update Plan coverage.

With current Waves Update Plan coverage, you receive all updates and benefits at no additional cost.

Renew your coverage only when you want to. You don’t have to renew it every year.

No matter how many non-overlapping products you own or how long their coverage has been inactive - you'll never pay more than $200 per account to re-activate your coverage for one full year, starting today. For overlapping or identical products, the cap is $200 per bundle to re-activate your coverage for one full year, starting today. Read more.

Your current plugins will always work on a compatible DAW, even after your Waves Update Plan coverage has expired.

For every dollar you spend on Waves Update Plan coverage, you’ll get credit toward the purchase of any product or upgrade (up to 50% toward the MSRP of any bundle or upgrade, or up to 25% toward the MSRP of any plugin, after all applicable discounts.)

Renew your Waves Update Plan coverage and get Waves V9
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-21-2012, 04:23 PM
RossH RossH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CANADA
Posts: 71
Default Re: Waves Will NOT Be Supporting AAX-DSP!!!

Did they say why not? Seems a little crazy to throw away your richest customers.
__________________
PT Ultimate 2019.10 // Mac Pro 2012 // High Sierra 10.13.6 // BlackMagic DeckLink Intensity Pro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-21-2012, 04:27 PM
blairl blairl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Posts: 1,084
Default Re: Waves Will NOT Be Supporting AAX-DSP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
Yes well read it carefully.

It says that waves will uphold the upgrade of their plugins for compatible daws. Once PT drops tdm, it nullifies the wup for dsp plugins as PT will no longer be compatible.

Here
The #1 bullet point item for WUP marketing says, "total compatibility with all major audio hosts and operating systems". This leads WUP purchasers to believe that their Waves investment will continue to be supported as they continue to pay for WUP.

So what is the definition of "major audio host"? Does a Pro Tools HDX system not fall into this category?

In my mind "total compatibility" means that if I use Pro Tools HDX, I can use AAX-DSP versions of Waves plug-ins. If I am limited to RTAS or AAX-Native, then this is "partial compatibility".

Waves cannot continue to use "total compatibility" and "all major audio hosts" as selling points when they refuse to support AAX-DSP.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-21-2012, 04:55 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,389
Default Re: Waves Will NOT Be Supporting AAX-DSP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by blairl View Post
The #1 bullet point item for WUP marketing says, "total compatibility with all major audio hosts and operating systems". This leads WUP purchasers to believe that their Waves investment will continue to be supported as they continue to pay for WUP.

So what is the definition of "major audio host"? Does a Pro Tools HDX system not fall into this category?

In my mind "total compatibility" means that if I use Pro Tools HDX, I can use AAX-DSP versions of Waves plug-ins. If I am limited to RTAS or AAX-Native, then this is "partial compatibility".

Waves cannot continue to use "total compatibility" and "all major audio hosts" as a selling point when they refuse to support AAX-DSP.
An add never takes precedences on the policies ..ie small prints on the add. And in this case they can, if they do not make dsp solutions anymore, they can claim that it's for the aax native only. HDX is not the daw, it's a gear. The DAW itself can use native or DSP. Not rooting for them or anything, just pointing out that they have always backed themselves legally.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playback engine not supporting 44.1 kHz cgunn Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 07-02-2007 04:52 PM
Digidesign supporting XP all the way! gabriel_p 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 26 09-21-2002 12:10 PM
any words on supporting DUAL CPU?? Thomas Chiu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-01-2001 05:07 PM
Supporting 5.1surround afj Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 01-14-2000 03:10 AM
PT/NT 4.2.5 supporting PT/Mix hardware? DNS Studios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 02-10-1999 04:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com