Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2012, 08:26 AM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Software Monitoring

I´m trying to find a good workaround for software monitoring in Protools - usually I set my prefs to send follows main pan but I´d like to have the same with the volume level because I have to send it prefade to the headphones of the musicians I´m recording (if not I cant listen into solo tracks while recording..)
how do you guys do this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2012, 09:24 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Software Monitoring

MuteTone.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2012, 09:49 AM
pqlior@mac.com pqlior@mac.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 493
Default Re: Software Monitoring

If I understand what you're describing, you want to send prefader mixes to your musicians... Select all the channels you want to send to the phones, and use 'copy to send' (edit menu). Then choose which send to copy to and check fader and pan. This'll copy your mix settings to the selected send. Then hold option+shift and click the 'pre' button in one of the sends and it'll set them all to pre. And you're done!
__________________
Lior

HD Native * PT 2018.12 * OS X 10.13.6 * MacPro 12 Core * 2.4GHz 24GB Ram * 2XUAD2 Octo * Waves Platinum * Lexicon PCM Native Bundle * Sound Toys Bundle* AutoTune8 * NI Komplete11 * BFD3 * Synthogy Ivory II* Vienna Ensemble Pro * Spectrasonics * Slate trigger2 *xFer records * Softube * Vienna Ensemble * DMG Expurgate * Massey DRT2 *
iPad Air/Avid control * EuCon 18.3.0.217 *
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-14-2012, 09:55 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Software Monitoring

A very quick way to set up a starting point for a headphone mix is do a 'copy to send' of your main mix to all the sends - pre fader of course - you're using for the headphone mixes.

from that point on the whole idea is to customize the mix for the talent in the tracking room.


Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-14-2012, 02:24 PM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: Software Monitoring

thx guys didnt know there is copy to send - I´ll try it immediatly
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-14-2012, 02:41 PM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: Software Monitoring

it kinda stays grey in the menu.. cant select it and I selected all tracks before.. I´m using PT 10.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-14-2012, 02:45 PM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: Software Monitoring

I guess its HD only right?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-15-2012, 03:05 AM
Dj-Ike Dj-Ike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 226
Default Re: Software Monitoring

Try highlighting the tracks and use shift-option to click on the send and it should put a bus on your selected tracks. In your i/o setup chose the output you want to use, and label it headphones. I usually use 1/2 to the 01V, and 3/4 directly out to the Powerplay XL.
__________________
PT18, Avid S3, LogicX, DP8, OS10.12.6, Mac Pro 2013 3.5GHz/32GB ram/SSD=14T, Macbook Pro 17" i7/16GB/4T Samsung EVO SSD, Avid S3, Digi 003, UMC404HD, A.I.R., DSF Plugs, EW Collection, McDsp collection, Slate Digital collection, Softube collection, IK Multimedia Bundle, Komplete 11 Ultimate, Reason 8, Waves Mercury/SSL400/Abbey Roads, Wavearts5, Avox, Yamaha 01V96i, NI S61+Maschine Studio, DP8, Midixpress XT, Digital Timepiece, Urei 1178, S760, P2K, ect..
Music is the Message
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Software monitoring and UAD Sam C Pro Tools 11 18 03-10-2018 09:03 AM
Software Monitoring On/Off captainhook Pro Tools 9 253 09-28-2012 04:59 AM
Software monitoring? davey boy macOS 2 12-10-2010 10:53 AM
Software monitoring question mattrixx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-10-2008 05:43 PM
monitoring other software through 001 lethe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-05-2000 12:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com