Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2012, 05:23 AM
Jakob Clemen Jakob Clemen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 121
Default 48 or 64 input with aggregate devices and CPT?

Hey folks

I'm thinking on expanding my PT 10 with CPT setup for live recording. Right now I have a M-Audio 2626, Focusrite Saffire pro 56 and a Focusrite Octopre. This gives me a total of 24 analog in/out.

Right now I'm concidering wich way to go in order to get the most flexible setup with the highest track count.

So first of all, if I double my existing setup, is 48 inputs via aggregate devices and two firewire inputs possible?

If I add aM-Audio Profire Lightbridge to my existing setup I could get 32 in/out and if I double this setup via aggregate devices I would get 64 in/out

I can see in the manual (p 243) that it's possible to get 192 input with the CPT, but how can I achieve this with non Avid devices - if possible at all?

I hope you can help me sort this out

Thanks in advance
Jakob
__________________
Did you talk to your talkbox today?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2012, 06:13 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: 48 or 64 input with aggregate devices and CPT?

PT 10, with or without the CPTK, has a maximum of 32 I/O
64 I/O would require HD Native
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2012, 06:26 AM
Jakob Clemen Jakob Clemen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 121
Default Re: 48 or 64 input with aggregate devices and CPT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejwells View Post
PT 10, with or without the CPTK, has a maximum of 32 I/O
But it is stated on p. 243 in the reference manual that you can get up to 192 input with CPTK

From the manual:
Complete Production Toolkit lets you play or re-
cord up to 192 voices simultaneously at 44.1 or
48 kHz and up to 96 voices at 88.2 or 96 kHz.

Thanks
Jakob
__________________
Did you talk to your talkbox today?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2012, 06:36 AM
Jakob Clemen Jakob Clemen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 121
Default Re: 48 or 64 input with aggregate devices and CPT?

Hmm. Just found this page where it says that you get 32 in/out even though you have the CPTK - Damn

http://www.avid.com/US/products/Comp...uction-Toolkit
__________________
Did you talk to your talkbox today?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2012, 01:39 AM
slater05 slater05 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 188
Default Re: 48 or 64 input with aggregate devices and CPT?

Total track count of 192 (if your computer can handle that anyways), but only record 32


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakob Clemen View Post
But it is stated on p. 243 in the reference manual that you can get up to 192 input with CPTK

From the manual:
Complete Production Toolkit lets you play or re-
cord up to 192 voices simultaneously at 44.1 or
48 kHz and up to 96 voices at 88.2 or 96 kHz.

Thanks
Jakob
__________________
www.mikeslatermusic.com
PTHD9 Certified Operator
15" MBP 10.7.2
Pro Tools 10.0
Apogee Duet
M-Audio BX5A's
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2012, 04:00 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: 48 or 64 input with aggregate devices and CPT?

Actually, the track count with the CPTK and PT 10 is 256
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aggregate Devices on MAC Becharax Pro Tools 11 2 07-31-2013 05:46 AM
Aggregate Surround Devices Farmer Dave macOS 2 12-09-2012 03:15 PM
Digi CoreAudio & Aggregate Devices James Drake 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-06-2008 06:51 PM
2 x 96 I/O and Mac Aggregate devices? wollywoo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-09-2007 02:56 AM
Aggregate Devices... cwhite771 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 01-05-2006 08:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com