Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-01-2012, 11:50 AM
Kaneepa Kaneepa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 108
Default Re: HDX smokes HD2

Cache on..
__________________
.....
  #12  
Old 01-01-2012, 12:37 PM
Kaneepa Kaneepa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 108
Default Re: HDX smokes HD2

link..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n2U88...ItaoeAHfhlJ1Wz
__________________
.....
  #13  
Old 01-01-2012, 01:54 PM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 593
Default Re: HDX smokes HD2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaneepa View Post
Just keep in mind -- that recording silence from 'bus inputs' is WAY different than recording REAL complex waveforms coming in from a pre from 768 different and unique sources. People have been doing these track count tests from 'silent sources' thru busses forever. And they're not accurate 'real life' tests.

You can do an accurate 'max playback of tracks' test if you can 'playback' 768 unique sounds - maybe compiled from 10-20 projects' worth of soundbites in your library -- line them all up at different start points on the timeline - still overlapping all 768 enough for a sufficient section of playback to test the buffers filling. Then THAT would simulate real life playback of 768 tracks.

My guess is that, especially with and SSD drive as your source and the new RAM disk cache in PTX - you probably won't have any trouble. But all I'm saying - is that it's very hard to create a real test of 'tracks on input'. Using busses as inputs doesn't really accurately test that.
__________________
Rig 1-Mix/Mast: PTHD 11.3.1; MacPro 6core (6,1) 3.5 GHz Xeon E5; 10.10.3 (SSD Drives for audio); Apogee DUET, FireStudio2626 as Hware Inserts to PT for outboard
Rig 2-Cutting&Remotes: PTHD 11.3.1; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.9.2 (128GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax FS
  #14  
Old 01-01-2012, 02:57 PM
Kaneepa Kaneepa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 108
Default Re: HDX smokes HD2

No busses here .. 172 different inputs (11 interfaces) repeated 5 times .. Obviously nothing was playing but those inputs were real...
__________________
.....
  #15  
Old 01-01-2012, 03:28 PM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 593
Default Re: HDX smokes HD2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaneepa View Post
No busses here .. 172 different inputs (11 interfaces) repeated 5 times .. Obviously nothing was playing but those inputs were real...
What did you use as source material thru the interfaces? A test tone won't render an accurate test either. The same 'source' sound, even if fed by mult-ing, to 172 inputs also won't make an accurate test. It has to be 172 (768) different organic sounds. If that's what you did - how did you achieve that many different sources?
Thanks for indulging me..
__________________
Rig 1-Mix/Mast: PTHD 11.3.1; MacPro 6core (6,1) 3.5 GHz Xeon E5; 10.10.3 (SSD Drives for audio); Apogee DUET, FireStudio2626 as Hware Inserts to PT for outboard
Rig 2-Cutting&Remotes: PTHD 11.3.1; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.9.2 (128GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax FS
  #16  
Old 01-01-2012, 06:45 PM
FilterDecay FilterDecay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 675
Default Re: HDX smokes HD2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaneepa View Post
Tried recording 768 tracks ... no problem... disk activity: 6 % !!!!
Im sorry?

Thats a BIG claim. You need to back that up with some real world data.

Edit

I see your video now. I agree we need more info but thats still pretty good.
  #17  
Old 01-01-2012, 06:55 PM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 732
Default Re: HDX smokes HD2

Quote:
Just keep in mind -- that recording silence from 'bus inputs' is WAY different than recording REAL complex waveforms coming in from a pre from 768 different and unique sources. People have been doing these track count tests from 'silent sources' thru busses forever. And they're not accurate 'real life' tests.
NewdestinyX,

I do understand that this is not a real life test but recording 768 tracks from a single drive with 6% disk activity is still f?&* amazing.

I would like to know if one single HDX card replace an HD5 or 6? any user report on this? The fact that revibe eats almost a chip isn't good news for me, I am using Altiverb which is currently using much more than revibe on HD systems...

Happy new Year!
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
http://immersivesoundvr.com/
  #18  
Old 01-01-2012, 07:04 PM
1m1 1m1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 726
Default Re: HDX smokes HD2

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewdestinyX View Post
What did you use as source material thru the interfaces? A test tone won't render an accurate test either. The same 'source' sound, even if fed by mult-ing, to 172 inputs also won't make an accurate test. It has to be 172 (768) different organic sounds. If that's what you did - how did you achieve that many different sources?
Thanks for indulging me..
What testing have you done to make you believe that recording 172 of the same sounds is different than recording 172 different sounds when it comes to disk performance?
  #19  
Old 01-01-2012, 07:27 PM
BGMusic BGMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 433
Default Re: HDX smokes HD2

Ummm it doesn't play 758 tracks, that's how many are voice-able. They can't all play at the same time. The max number of tracks playing at one time is 256. Which should be plenty.
  #20  
Old 01-01-2012, 07:31 PM
FilterDecay FilterDecay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 675
Default Re: HDX smokes HD2

Quote:
Originally Posted by BGMusic View Post
Ummm it doesn't play 758 tracks, that's how many are voice-able. They can't all play at the same time. The max number of tracks playing at one time is 256. Which should be plenty.
hdx3 can have 768 voices.

That is my understanding anyways.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edit Smoothing smokes on a G5! bassmac Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-03-2005 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com