Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2011, 06:51 AM
drumster drumster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 463
Default Considering switching from HD3 PCIe to HD Native

After last night's announcement, it's clear we've reached the end of the line for TDM after PT10. While the new HDX cards look great, I'm not sure the new system is right for my needs as a songwriter and composer. It would work for sure, but it's a bit overkill for what I do.

The upgrade from HD3 to HDX is going to cost 6K, and I'm starting to think that kind of money would be better spent on a new Mac Pro and the HD Native system. It's perfect for my needs and would put me in a better place for when PT goes 64 bit.

I've heard that the my current machine, the 2008 Mac Pro, doesn't work that well with HD Native at lower buffers. Coming from TDM, having low latency is essential for me. That being said, what current Mac Pro would give me the best performance at the lowest possible latency? The 6 core Westmere machine looks to be in the ballpark of what I'd want to spend. How does that machine work with the Native system?

Any help or insight is much appreciated!
__________________
Lynx Hilo Thunderbolt
2013 Retina Macbook Pro 2.7 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 11.3.1 OSX 10.10.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2011, 08:23 AM
gclef101 gclef101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 121
Default Re: Considering switching from HD3 PCIe to HD Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumster View Post
After last night's announcement, it's clear we've reached the end of the line for TDM after PT10. While the new HDX cards look great, I'm not sure the new system is right for my needs as a songwriter and composer. It would work for sure, but it's a bit overkill for what I do.

The upgrade from HD3 to HDX is going to cost 6K, and I'm starting to think that kind of money would be better spent on a new Mac Pro and the HD Native system. It's perfect for my needs and would put me in a better place for when PT goes 64 bit.

I've heard that the my current machine, the 2008 Mac Pro, doesn't work that well with HD Native at lower buffers. Coming from TDM, having low latency is essential for me. That being said, what current Mac Pro would give me the best performance at the lowest possible latency? The 6 core Westmere machine looks to be in the ballpark of what I'd want to spend. How does that machine work with the Native system?

Any help or insight is much appreciated!
Hi Drumster I have a 2009 Mac Pro 2.26Ghz 8 Core machine with 20gbs of ram with an HD Native and I get good latency at 64 all the way up to 512. My computer has not run out of processing power even running VEPro for all of my virtual instruments. I work in Cubase for composing and production and then do all mixing and editing in Pro Tools and I would say that the Native system is good on the computer I have.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2011, 08:38 AM
promixr promixr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 859
Default Re: Considering switching from HD3 PCIe to HD Native

The Native Bundles are on sale now too so it's a great time to do this:

http://imsproav.com/main/AVID99356501700.html
__________________
Eddie Sullivan
Long Island Mac Tech
http://long-island-mac-tech.com
long.island.mac.tech@gmail.com
631 786 3924

Freelance Mac/Pro Tools tech for hire. Metro New York Area.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2011, 08:43 AM
drumster drumster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 463
Default Re: Considering switching from HD3 PCIe to HD Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by promixr View Post
The Native Bundles are on sale now too so it's a great time to do this:

http://imsproav.com/main/AVID99356501700.html
The link you've provided is confusing. $1495 for HD Native and the Omni; what do you have to trade in to get that?
__________________
Lynx Hilo Thunderbolt
2013 Retina Macbook Pro 2.7 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 11.3.1 OSX 10.10.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2011, 08:49 AM
drumster drumster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 463
Default Re: Considering switching from HD3 PCIe to HD Native

My apologies. I misread the advertisement. There still doesn't seem to be any trade in option from HD Accel PCIe to HD Native.
__________________
Lynx Hilo Thunderbolt
2013 Retina Macbook Pro 2.7 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 11.3.1 OSX 10.10.1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2011, 09:12 AM
promixr promixr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 859
Default Re: Considering switching from HD3 PCIe to HD Native

Yes this is for a new system. There isn't a trade in for the HD Accel systems to Native.

Also- the trade in for your HD3 system may be a bit more liberal than you think. Which interfaces do you own?
__________________
Eddie Sullivan
Long Island Mac Tech
http://long-island-mac-tech.com
long.island.mac.tech@gmail.com
631 786 3924

Freelance Mac/Pro Tools tech for hire. Metro New York Area.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2011, 09:14 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: Considering switching from HD3 PCIe to HD Native

His signature lists the HD 16 x 16.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-21-2011, 10:54 AM
promixr promixr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 859
Default Re: Considering switching from HD3 PCIe to HD Native

My Bad! Well his interface is still going to be compatible : )
__________________
Eddie Sullivan
Long Island Mac Tech
http://long-island-mac-tech.com
long.island.mac.tech@gmail.com
631 786 3924

Freelance Mac/Pro Tools tech for hire. Metro New York Area.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-21-2011, 11:38 AM
drumster drumster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 463
Default Re: Considering switching from HD3 PCIe to HD Native

Avid should allow existing TDM customers who don't want to upgrade to HDX to move to HD Native with some sort of cross grade offer.
__________________
Lynx Hilo Thunderbolt
2013 Retina Macbook Pro 2.7 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 11.3.1 OSX 10.10.1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-21-2011, 11:39 AM
drumster drumster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 463
Default Re: Considering switching from HD3 PCIe to HD Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by gclef101 View Post
Hi Drumster I have a 2009 Mac Pro 2.26Ghz 8 Core machine with 20gbs of ram with an HD Native and I get good latency at 64 all the way up to 512. My computer has not run out of processing power even running VEPro for all of my virtual instruments. I work in Cubase for composing and production and then do all mixing and editing in Pro Tools and I would say that the Native system is good on the computer I have.
Thanks for the insight into your system! It sounds like you're pretty happy.
__________________
Lynx Hilo Thunderbolt
2013 Retina Macbook Pro 2.7 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 11.3.1 OSX 10.10.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using PT9 with HD Native PCIE KSR macOS 1 12-19-2013 01:28 PM
HD Native... Thunderbolt or PCIe? kirkbross Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 09-18-2013 11:25 AM
PT10 DSP/Native switching elicious Pro Tools 10 0 06-12-2013 05:10 AM
Switching from HD Native to Lynx AES16e ? jacko macOS 0 01-10-2013 03:22 PM
PT HD Native or PT9 with PCIE card jcolagross Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 1 04-28-2011 09:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com