Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-12-2011, 05:18 AM
cozy_man cozy_man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 42
Default Re: Motor Noise

I have exactly the same problem.
I will contact my dealer for an exchange.
No news from your side?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-12-2011, 05:30 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default

Nothing yet. I'll give you an update as soon as I have mine replaced.

Sent from my HTC HD2 using Tapatalk
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-12-2011, 11:05 AM
cozy_man cozy_man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 42
Default Re: Motor Noise

I also ordered a new one.
If there is still a problem, I exchange it for a Mackie.
I think it's really shameful on the part of Avid / Euphonix.
I did not even get a response from the support !!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-12-2011, 12:07 PM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Re: Motor Noise

I fully agree with you. It's a shame, and embarrassing for a company with their reputation. If I spend 1k for a controller, I don't expect a lawn mower in front of me. If it were Behringer, I would swallow it and learn, to spend more next time. But in this case - it's just crazy.
I didn't get a response from Euphonix support either, and it has been weeks now. I'll switch to Mackie as well, if the replacement is the same piece of junk.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-12-2011, 12:22 PM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 545
Default Re: Motor Noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by cozy_man View Post
I have exactly the same problem.
I will contact my dealer for an exchange.
No news from your side?
I exchanged and received a unit with a higher serial number, it's definitely better. There is still a bit of brief motor noise with slow movements, but I think it's tolerable.. I'm not sure how much is supposed to be normal.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-12-2011, 12:26 PM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Re: Motor Noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertg View Post
I exchanged and received a unit with a higher serial number, it's definitely better. There is still a bit of brief motor noise with slow movements, but I think it's tolerable.. I'm not sure how much is supposed to be normal.
When a fader stands still, and the DAW is paused there should be complete and utter silence in my world. Why should the motor struggle, when he's getting no commands to move? 7 of my faders behave the way they are supposed to, it's just one, that won't quit humming.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-13-2011, 01:17 AM
soundworx soundworx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 209
Default Re: Motor Noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
When a fader stands still, and the DAW is paused there should be complete and utter silence in my world. Why should the motor struggle, when he's getting no commands to move? 7 of my faders behave the way they are supposed to, it's just one, that won't quit humming.
Have the same problem and totally agree, it's a very annoying sound and it should not be there at all, and certainly not when PT is not even in play!!

I came from a Command 8 which was flawless in that respect. And while we're at it, I have two more complaints; I also have a MC Control V2 and every time I close a session I send a fadercap flying through my room. BAM! Am I supposed to glue the cap to the metal?

Second; It's very slow compared to my Command 8. I used to be able to have my finger on the fader of a Voice Over track and "duck" the signal a bit for breaths. If I do that now, the fade up/down is too late... Anyone else? PT8 by the way, so I hope Eucon will improve that
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-13-2011, 01:32 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Re: Motor Noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundworx View Post
Have the same problem and totally agree, it's a very annoying sound and it should not be there at all, and certainly not when PT is not even in play!!

I came from a Command 8 which was flawless in that respect. And while we're at it, I have two more complaints; I also have a MC Control V2 and every time I close a session I send a fadercap flying through my room. BAM! Am I supposed to glue the cap to the metal?

Second; It's very slow compared to my Command 8. I used to be able to have my finger on the fader of a Voice Over track and "duck" the signal a bit for breaths. If I do that now, the fade up/down is too late... Anyone else? PT8 by the way, so I hope Eucon will improve that
Response with Eucon is very good.
But the story with your flying fader cap is another thing - I mean, it's 1k, right? In my book this is an amount of money, that should provide a device with at least reasonable quality. And hell, it's Euphonix!
They really didn't do themselves a favour when they unleashed this piece of hardware. And they don't even bother to answer if you mention these flaws to their support.

@DTS: I would very much like a statement. Is this, what's to expect from Euphonix these days? Isn't hardware checked anymore, before it's released? How can it be, that Euphonix creates a device that makes this much noise, when quietness is vital to the work environment it's supposed to be used in?
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-13-2011, 11:16 AM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: Motor Noise

I'm having my second MC Control replaced for this problem. Bad run it seems and not stellar QC on the China side. Avid is being very accommodating with the replacement, however.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-13-2011, 12:17 PM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: Motor Noise

I have an older MC Mix and it's totally silent. When I bought my MC control v2 I demanded that the general agent tested the unit before shipping it to the dealer - they did and proved it by providing a video, but my second MC Mix is put on hold (perhaps they have discovered this problem before shipping them over to us)?

The other thing with the caps flying off the MC Control is actually worse, since its due to bad construction and bad design. You could wish it had a small heel so you could thread it onto the metal holder - simple but effective? Construction wise, my older Digi 002 unit is better build.

What i LOVE about these units is simple - the application awareness it's a fantastic feature.

Is there anyone besides me that feel that the faders are a bit to far apart?
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CHUD, fixing ADAT XT sync, and motor noise? Yontz Sucre 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-09-2004 05:31 PM
Attn: Drumkit from Hell experts: noise noise noise Smelt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 07-30-2003 07:31 AM
Motor Mix EvilD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-24-2002 11:10 AM
I'm using the O1V as a motor mix but... Dead River Studio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-18-2001 02:31 PM
001 and motor mix Notefarm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 07-08-2001 10:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com