Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2010, 08:57 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Motor Noise

I just unpacked my new MC Mix and played around a little, and I am pretty annoyed by that constant motor noise. It's coming from one fader only, and it comes and goes as it pleases.
Is that a common issue, or should I return it and get another one?
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2010, 11:52 AM
Venture Studios Venture Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 84
Default Re: Motor Noise

unfortunately both mine do the same thing now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2010, 12:04 PM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Re: Motor Noise

Okay, thanks for your input. This at least means it's a feature not a failure, and so I'll keep it (grinding my teeth considering what it costs. For 1000$ you shouldn't have to deal with sth like that.).
Maybe a new firmware will take care of this issue? Pretty please, Avid...?
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:12 AM
soundworx soundworx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 209
Default Re: Motor Noise

Have the same thing and it seems that a certain production run exhibits this kind of thing. Had a representative here and he had a different MC MIX to test; motor noise was practically non-existent...

Waiting for replacements...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:22 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Re: Motor Noise

Well, what does that mean for people who don't have Euphonix personnel visiting their studio?
I struggeled to get a quiet control room, and now I have a device right in front of me, that makes more noise than the MacPro which I banned from this room.
It's ridiculous, isn't it? I like the controller very much, but it is really (and I can't stress enough how much) disturbing my working.
I already contacted Euphonix on that, but didn't get a reply so far. If it's a manufacturing failure, and they were able to resolve it, then they should provide customers with functioning devices, taking back the noisemakers.
I mean, it's not that the buttons are lid differently or something one could live with. It really gets in the way of my work, when I do atmospheres for instance.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-01-2011, 03:26 PM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 545
Default Re: Motor Noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
Well, what does that mean for people who don't have Euphonix personnel visiting their studio?
I struggeled to get a quiet control room, and now I have a device right in front of me, that makes more noise than the MacPro which I banned from this room.
It's ridiculous, isn't it? I like the controller very much, but it is really (and I can't stress enough how much) disturbing my working.
I already contacted Euphonix on that, but didn't get a reply so far. If it's a manufacturing failure, and they were able to resolve it, then they should provide customers with functioning devices, taking back the noisemakers.
I mean, it's not that the buttons are lid differently or something one could live with. It really gets in the way of my work, when I do atmospheres for instance.
I have the same problem and am going to call them on Monday... you probably just didn't get a response yet due to the holidays.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-01-2011, 03:29 PM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Re: Motor Noise

I talked to my dealer about that, and he told me that in the middle of january they are getting a shipment of the new revision. He said he's going to replace mine. We'll see if that helps.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-01-2011, 06:44 PM
V314 V314 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 14
Default Re: Motor Noise

I'm wondering if anyone's heard more about this? I have a MC Mix, I here some motor noise, usually it happens just for a moment- almost as if the fader is just trying to settle into it's position/placement after moving, then usually goes away within a couple seconds. .. or if I tap the fader, it helps it fall into position then goes away.

Just wondering if it might get worse over time, or if it's gotten better with the use of EuCon in PT9.

Thx
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-01-2011, 06:56 PM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Re: Motor Noise

I'm using it with PT9 and Eucon, and it is like you say - but it doesn't stop after a few seconds, but it literally goes on forever. When I tap the fader it stops. But it's coming back after a while.
And I narrowed it down to one fader. It's only the second from the left that behaves that way.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2011, 01:39 PM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 545
Default Re: Motor Noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
I'm using it with PT9 and Eucon, and it is like you say - but it doesn't stop after a few seconds, but it literally goes on forever. When I tap the fader it stops. But it's coming back after a while.
And I narrowed it down to one fader. It's only the second from the left that behaves that way.
Interesting, my 2nd fader also takes longer to settle into position. The others usually snap pretty quickly, but that buzzing noise is present on all of them with slow movements.

The fader issue could be a fluke, but the decision to use cheap encoder knobs is very, very disappointing to me. They do not turn smoothly when slowly moved. I have hardware synths and am used to a fluid response. Even the cheapest analog mixers have good knobs. For over $1000, what a big letdown.

My only theory is that there were rounds of cost-cutting during the development process of the product. I know that the Mc Control 2 has better knobs, I wonder if it would be possible to get that improvement with the Mix.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CHUD, fixing ADAT XT sync, and motor noise? Yontz Sucre 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-09-2004 05:31 PM
Attn: Drumkit from Hell experts: noise noise noise Smelt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 07-30-2003 07:31 AM
Motor Mix EvilD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-24-2002 11:10 AM
I'm using the O1V as a motor mix but... Dead River Studio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-18-2001 02:31 PM
001 and motor mix Notefarm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 07-08-2001 10:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com