Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2010, 09:42 AM
jmtayloraudio jmtayloraudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Default C/24 ethernet connection

Our brand new C/24 keeps loosing communication with Pro Tools. The connector on the back panel of the C/24 does not click and seat firmly. If I snug it up I get a green com light and a flashing activity light. Then I'm allowed to re boot the connection in the perphs. Anyone having the same trouble? Is there a fix for the jack? This is a cross over cable yes?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2010, 05:43 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,763
Default Re: C/24 ethernet connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmtayloraudio View Post
Our brand new C/24 keeps loosing communication with Pro Tools. The connector on the back panel of the C/24 does not click and seat firmly. If I snug it up I get a green com light and a flashing activity light. Then I'm allowed to re boot the connection in the perphs. Anyone having the same trouble? Is there a fix for the jack? This is a cross over cable yes?
Sounds like you need a new Ethernet cable. One reason some cables don't seat is because the little nubbin on the cable connector is either missing or of an odd size. And as to whether it's a crossover cable or not depends on whether you're going through a router or direct to the computer. Consult your manual for which you need. And make sure you're using a proper Ethernet cable and not a cheapy phone system cable.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2010, 05:07 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,137
Default Re: C/24 ethernet connection

I noticed on a newly delivered Mac Pro that the Ethernet connector (Female) was easy to not catch. Although a firm push-n-wiggle did catch it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-23-2010, 11:06 AM
Scott Goldberg Scott Goldberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SF Bay Area USA
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: C/24 ethernet connection

I would follow the previous poster's advice and get another cable. They are not at all perfect and the intermittent disconnect will mess up your communications.
__________________
Scott Goldberg
Gold Recordings
http://www.goldrecordings.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artist Control / Ethernet Connection and Noise Problems lberrios1962 Artist Series 8 05-04-2012 09:20 AM
Control|24 losing Ethernet connection Echo studios ICON & C|24 1 04-12-2004 05:17 PM
Control|24 losing Ethernet connection on TDM/XP Echo studios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 04-10-2004 09:07 PM
No Ethernet Connection? Mark McCabe ICON & C|24 0 09-25-2003 12:44 PM
control 24 and ethernet connection ianmiller ICON & C|24 3 03-02-2002 12:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com