Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-04-2016, 11:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,921
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack in stand alone

As has been said a hundred times(not in this thread, but trust me), even if it does work, I've never met anyone that called the 002 better than an "adequate" sounding unit. The Behringer ADA8200(the red one with Midas-designed preamps) will sound significantly better. If you don't mind spending more money for a major uptick in quality, look at the Midas XL48 or the Audient AD800(I think that's the model). Old Adat's are no better than the 002. Yes, I realize plenty of hits were done on those things, but technology has passed them by(and they will doubtfully ever be prized for there "vintage" sound.....)

Whatever you use, make sure you clock the system correctly or your audio will be full of clicks and pops....
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-05-2016, 05:21 AM
zolko zolko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 107
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack in stand alone

Yeah Dave! I totally agree!
(If it works), use it only if you need additional 8 tracks very badly and your old 002R stucks in your basement
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-20-2019, 11:43 AM
darkgoob darkgoob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 48
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack in stand alone

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
As has been said a hundred times(not in this thread, but trust me), even if it does work, I've never met anyone that called the 002 better than an "adequate" sounding unit. The Behringer ADA8200(the red one with Midas-designed preamps) will sound significantly better. If you don't mind spending more money for a major uptick in quality, look at the Midas XL48 or the Audient AD800(I think that's the model). Old Adat's are no better than the 002. Yes, I realize plenty of hits were done on those things, but technology has passed them by(and they will doubtfully ever be prized for there "vintage" sound.....)

Whatever you use, make sure you clock the system correctly or your audio will be full of clicks and pops....
Actually my 002 Rack sounds fine for my purposes. It has Black Lion mods and I’m just using it to convert 8 line-level inputs from Soundcraft Delta 200 deluxe channel strips. We use this to bring in synths and effects, not recording live jazz or anything like that.

Also, if I was going to upgrade then I would get hardware like ProTools HD, Antelope, Lynx Aurora, MOTU, or Metric Halo... NOT BEHRINGER!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-20-2019, 02:06 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,640
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack in stand alone

I also have a Black Lion 002R in storage ... now I'm curious to try this idea out. How to set the 002R as a slave to external ADAT master clock?
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.10 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 10 / Win 7 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / 8GB / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy rig (works): PT 5&6 / MAC G4 OS9&OSX / DIGI001
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack Stand alone app??? MyerzMedia Eleven Rack 2 03-26-2011 09:59 PM
digi 003 rack in stand alone mode? Resonant Alien 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-24-2009 11:15 AM
002 Rack stand alone? getfunkynow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-28-2004 12:59 AM
002 rack as stand-alone Preamp jbw Tips & Tricks 2 03-21-2004 02:40 PM
Baby HUI w/002 rack or Digi 002 stand alone Supercrank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-25-2003 01:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com