Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-11-2018, 10:24 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,319
Default Re: UAD plugs LiveTrack Mode with PT HDX system

Quote:
Originally Posted by saspro View Post
H----
Similar question here....I just received a free UAD-2 QuadCore PCIe card and my first UA plugs with my purchase of the outboard UAD 4-ch tube preamp. I run an HDX system, so when live tracking I like to use some channel strip plugs. I have to use DSP plugs as Native plugs are unavailable when recording. But the only DSP plugs I own are the stock Digi stuff and some Metric Halo, which are serviceable but not special.
I was eager to see if somehow my new UA plugs could be used in UA’s LiveTrack Mode, in hopes they could replace my DSP plugs. But, there’s really no way, is there, as all these UA plugs are Native, and any Native plug is forced into bypass when in record mode?

MacPro 5,1 OS 10.12
PT 12.8.3 HDX 16ch A/D interface
You can force a native plugin to be available by inserting it after any HDX/DSP plugin.

But oh why are you trying to do any of this? You have a low-latency HDX system and you are adding inherently high-latency UAD hardware to it (the complete opposite of HDX) and want to replace the HDX plugins with UAD plugins for tracking, this makes no sense. Use the UAD plugins for mixing.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-11-2018, 10:38 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,319
Default Re: Delay Compensation value with UAD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Becharax View Post
How do we adjust the ADC in Pro Tools to make up for the latency in the UAD Plugins ?
You turn ADC on, it works. The A stands for Automatic, there should be nothing to adjust. If things are not working for you need to troubleshoot, and if after help on DUC need to describe what is happening. Starting with the ADC latency on relevant tracks that is reported by Pro Tools and the latency you measure. Most “problems” with ADC are likely users getting themselves confused with complex signal paths, ADC just not being turned on, or very rarely plugins reporting incorrect latency. And occasionally folks confusing what ADC does, e.g. vs. record pass correction in Pro Tools Ultimate.

If you have incorrect plugin ADC correction on a track you use the +/- adjustment described in the section on ADC in the Pro Tools Reference Guide,
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-18-2018, 03:08 AM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,058
Default Re: Delay Compensation value with UAD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
You turn ADC on, it works. The A stands for Automatic, there should be nothing to adjust. If things are not working for you need to troubleshoot, and if after help on DUC need to describe what is happening. Starting with the ADC latency on relevant tracks that is reported by Pro Tools and the latency you measure. Most “problems” with ADC are likely users getting themselves confused with complex signal paths, ADC just not being turned on, or very rarely plugins reporting incorrect latency. And occasionally folks confusing what ADC does, e.g. vs. record pass correction in Pro Tools Ultimate.

If you have incorrect plugin ADC correction on a track you use the +/- adjustment described in the section on ADC in the Pro Tools Reference Guide,
Darryl ... ADC is ON ... I am having issues with UAD Plugins only when it comes to delay compensation in Pro Tools ... say for example when i insert a distressor plugin on any channel this specific channel will become out of sync compared to the rest of the project ... I don't know how to compensate by adding +- ... why should i do it manually ? shouldn't it be AUTOMATIC ?
When I work in Logic i just throw any plugin on any channel and i don't even bother to look or adjust anything to keep the track in sync with the project .. can you elaborate ?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2018.1

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-19-2018, 03:31 AM
danyg danyg is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 111
Default Re: Delay Compensation value with UAD

Becharax,
I work in Logic and PT. ADC behaves basically the same.

Quote:
...in hopes they could replace my DSP plugs. But, there’s really no way, is there, as all these UA plugs are Native, and any Native plug is forced into bypass when in record mode
UAD has always been for mixing. Now they want to sell their interfaces ... where you can use the plugins for tracking
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 10.10. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 10.10. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-19-2018, 10:44 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,319
Default Re: Delay Compensation value with UAD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Becharax View Post
Darryl ... ADC is ON ... I am having issues with UAD Plugins only when it comes to delay compensation in Pro Tools ... say for example when i insert a distressor plugin on any channel this specific channel will become out of sync compared to the rest of the project ... I don't know how to compensate by adding +- ... why should i do it manually ? shouldn't it be AUTOMATIC ?
When I work in Logic i just throw any plugin on any channel and i don't even bother to look or adjust anything to keep the track in sync with the project .. can you elaborate ?
Yes I get it’s not working for you. Just saying that over and over here is not going to have somebody else magically guess what is going on/what you are doing in this session. You need to troubleshoot and/or describe what you are doing in much more detail (starting with what are the ADC numbers displayed by Pro Tools, does the ADC number color coding tell you Pro Tools even thinks it is compensating OK for the delays). I already mentioned routing issues can cause problems (just as they can in Logic and all other DAWs)... having a signal routing path that is just logically impossible to compensate for. Start with a trivial session and play and see if ADC does what it should.

Why manually adjust stuff? I already said plugins might possibly report incorrect latency (the distressor plugin should report correctly). And manually adjusting things can be a useful trobleshooting tool to work out what is going on. If you are saying you don’t know how to actually adjust the latency you need to read the Pro Tools ADC documentation, it’s pretty worrying that you have not done that already. UAD also has good documentation on their plugin latency, you should see ADC comp numbers that match the sample delay numbers they give. (Plus the IO buffer latency, already well mentioned in this thread).

The distressor is not a high latency plugin, it should have 55-88 sample delay depending on sample rate, in addition to IO buffer latency... you should be comparing those specs to what you see, starting in a simple test sessions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation Delay With Delay Compensation On? hbadger30 Pro Tools 12 1 02-10-2016 02:07 PM
help fixing plugin delay and delay compensation disaster prestonhavill Pro Tools Software (Mac) 14 12-24-2014 04:35 PM
Delay compensation with backline delay chuck goodwin VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 08-09-2013 08:54 AM
Pro Tools 9 Delay and Delay Compensation on Aux Tracks and Bussing CNSound Pro Tools Software (Mac) 1 01-27-2012 12:10 PM
Delay compensation- choice of 'Medium delay'? dtmprod Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-06-2010 12:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com