Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2011, 08:43 PM
fredmarzin fredmarzin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wallan, Australia
Posts: 50
Default Pro Tools LE 8 Stalling at XPAND!.dpm

See my previous posts regarding this issue.
I needed Avid Mbox series to run the program. Done that. Works fine on WIN XP Pro.
But the problem still persists. I have read other posts regarding issues and there seems to be issues between Microsoft and Avid programming.
Can someone please give a solution to this issue.
Pro Tools is NOT a cheap program and when it works it flies.
(I have pro tools on My WIN 7 laptop and have no problems with it)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2011, 08:46 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 Stalling at XPAND!.dpm

Either update to Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 or uninstall MSIE8.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2011, 10:38 PM
fredmarzin fredmarzin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wallan, Australia
Posts: 50
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 Stalling at XPAND!.dpm

Thanks Filosofem

I have upgraded to PT 8.0.5. Same problem.
You suggested Uninstalling MSIE 8.

If I uninstall MSIE8, which I am relunctant to do, as I run a windows based Machine, everything should work ok.

Why wasn't this option suggested PRIOR TO ME PURCHASING THIS PROGRAM.
What are the programmers doing about it?
Don't they know anything about duty of care for their customers.
I have spent countless hours to run this Whiz Bang program only to find out that there is an issue with MSIE8. What a crock.

I am now assuming that issue is not with XPAND plug in, but with whatever the installation program is looking for next.
Surely the programmers can find a solution!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:22 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 Stalling at XPAND!.dpm

Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 addresses that issue. Are you running Xpand! 1.0.1?
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2011, 03:59 AM
fredmarzin fredmarzin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wallan, Australia
Posts: 50
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 Stalling at XPAND!.dpm

Hi Aaron
I apologise for my outburst, but you can understand how frustrating it is.
I have no idea of what version of Xpand i am running. How do I find out?

By the way, i have removed MSIE8 and have the same problem.
For what it's worth, I even gave PT access priviliges on my Virus protection Program (Mcafee).
If I knew what the installer was looking for , I may be able to isolate the problem

Fred
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2011, 04:33 AM
fredmarzin fredmarzin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wallan, Australia
Posts: 50
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 Stalling at XPAND!.dpm

Hi Aaron.
I located the Xpand!. dpm file and the properties tell me it's the 2.0.2 version.
Is this what you were asking?
By the way, I have not seen any posts on "xpand!" only xpand2. Is this the norm or am I missing something here. Is the file incorrectly named?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2011, 08:46 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 Stalling at XPAND!.dpm

Download Tech Support Utility and generate a version list of plug-ins. Ummm... this may also be an incompatibility issue with an out of date plug-in. Double check all plug-ins that they are up to date.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2011, 07:09 PM
fredmarzin fredmarzin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wallan, Australia
Posts: 50
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 Stalling at XPAND!.dpm

Thanks Aaron
I now have the Tech Support Utility Program. Pardon my ignorance.
How do I generate a version list from the Utility?
And which plugins are you referring to. ALL plugins including emagic and Fruity loops etc, or just the plugins from PT?

As a seperate issue. (might be related) When I run emagic Logic, to run my plugins, logic searches ALL drives for the plugins. Initially it takes a few minutes as I have 2 HD's and 2 USB hd's. Could this be an issue with PT, or has it a dedicated folder to search.
NEXT----is Directx v 9 sufficient to run PT 8 on Win XP.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2011, 07:28 PM
fredmarzin fredmarzin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wallan, Australia
Posts: 50
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 Stalling at XPAND!.dpm

Hi Aaron
I have another querie now regarding the Mbox I purchased recently.
On the requirements for PT v 8.0.3 it states that the "the original mbox will not work with versions 8.0.3 and above"
Does this "original Mbox" relate to Mbox v3 that I have or an outdated version?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-28-2011, 08:57 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 Stalling at XPAND!.dpm

Nope regarding Mbox. The ReadMe should cover instructions on running Tech Support Utility.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 stalling on startup drumfill macOS 5 11-27-2011 04:48 AM
Pro Tools 7.4 stalling on playback! yoodooright Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 02-21-2011 04:52 AM
Pro Tools 8 Stalling on Start-up Garnold 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-10-2009 11:30 PM
Pro Tools stalling for 3 seconds on record TC1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-02-2006 11:44 PM
System Stalling on 6.4---HELP Keeron Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-13-2004 07:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com