Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Old 06-22-2019, 10:23 AM

Default Reverb help needed

Dont know where the best place is to put this. Im a Pro Tools First user (at the moment) but its a general question regarding use of Reverb.

I record my own stuff, guitars, keyboards and unfortunately vocals but I cannot seem to get to grips with the reverb that comes with Pro Tools first. I assume its available in all versions.

I am aware that there are several templates with "first" and I do use them or sometimes I start from scratch. In the templates the vocal reverbs I think have a send to a master reverb but they just sound a bit dead even whatever you try with them.

If I add a reverb to a particular vocal track itself it just sounds awful no matter what I try. Volume is decreased considerably but whichever of the presets or other options I choose they all just sound awful.

I just wondered if anyone could offer me a bit of beginners advice into which way I should be approaching this.
Old 06-22-2019, 10:59 AM

Default Re: Reverb help needed

Learn these 4 things:

Mix - the mixture of dry vs reverb, often expressed in percentage. Start with a high amount of reverb, maybe 40% as you adjust the other parameters. Once they are set, bring the mix down to have just enough reverb and no more.

Pre-delay - this is the amount of time, usually in milliseconds, that the dry signal is delayed before hitting the reverb. For a vocal, try starting with 20 ms and play around with longer times. The idea is to allow the dry sound to still be intelligible even with lots of verb.