Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2012, 12:59 PM
eplust eplust is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8
Default Targeted tempo automation?

Hello,

New to the forums, I apologize if a similar thread has been posted.

I've recently made the switch to PT from DP; as clunky and confusing as DP may have been, one strong advantage was its MIDI capabilities, specifically its tempo automation. In DP, you can highlight a selection and have DP calculate a desired tempo map (be it accelerando, decelerando[for which you'd have to pick a start tempo], or constant tempo) to have the end of the selection (targeted beat) fall on a tick or frame of your choice. I was wondering if PT had anything comparable; I poked around a bit and couldn't find anything. In previous versions of PT I just had to draw tempo curves and futz around until the beat I wanted hit the frame I wanted. The reason for frame specificity is synchronization; frame specific tempo automations are immensely useful in film scoring.

Thanks in advance for all your help! :)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-15-2012, 10:35 AM
eplust eplust is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Targeted tempo automation?

sorry for the bump; anyone have a solution to this?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2012, 11:33 AM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Targeted tempo automation?

This is mostly done in Beat Detective although I don't mess with it much... You can probably find some tutorials online.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gradual automation of tempo is never exact. phillyt2k Pro Tools 10 7 04-18-2013 10:38 AM
Tap to tempo automation and Echoboy Jakob Clemen ICON & C|24 1 12-30-2012 03:33 PM
Automation, Plugin, write-to-all-enabled, but only for the currently targeted Plugin joachim Pro Tools 10 3 07-11-2012 10:48 AM
Automation follows Tempo or Time Compression? J.D. Andrew Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-03-2007 07:17 AM
Tempo Automation on Delay Plug-in doug_hti Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-30-2002 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com