Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2010, 05:33 AM
kirka.sainio kirka.sainio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
Default Write Automation to All Enabled Parameters in PT9 with mBox,

Hello,

Do You know if the shortcut to Write Automation to All Enabled Parameters (Command+Option+Forward Slash) is included in PT9 with MBox? It wasn't available in PT LE, only HD.

Thanks,

Kirka
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2010, 06:02 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,647
Default Re: Write Automation to All Enabled Parameters in PT9 with mBox,

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirka.sainio View Post
Hello,

Do You know if the shortcut to Write Automation to All Enabled Parameters (Command+Option+Forward Slash) is included in PT9 with MBox? It wasn't available in PT LE, only HD.

Thanks,

Kirka
If you have the complete production tool kit!!

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2010, 06:16 AM
kirka.sainio kirka.sainio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
Default Re: Write Automation to All Enabled Parameters in PT9 with mBox,

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
If you have the complete production tool kit!!

Chris
OK. CPTK is too expensive for just that function. I know that I can allways record automation on the fly, but do You know any better/faster workaroud for that shortcut.

Kirka
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2010, 10:19 AM
lexaudio lexaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: Write Automation to All Enabled Parameters in PT9 with mBox,

Write to all enabled worked on my PTLE 8 with DV Toolkit.

LEX
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-16-2010, 12:52 PM
kirka.sainio kirka.sainio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
Default Re: Write Automation to All Enabled Parameters in PT9 with mBox,

OK, it seems that Avid has made it a pro users only feature.

But do you know any other way I could tweak my automation parameters and then write it to a selected area?

Thanks,

Kirka
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2011, 10:46 PM
druck druck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Write Automation to All Enabled Parameters in PT9 with mBox,

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirka.sainio View Post
OK, it seems that Avid has made it a pro users only feature.

But do you know any other way I could tweak my automation parameters and then write it to a selected area?

Thanks,

Kirka
You posted this question a few months back so you've probably already found a workaround, but you can always just use write mode. Make sure under Setup/Preferences/Mixing you have "After write pass, switch to" switched to off, then make a selection on the track you wish to automate. Now, make sure you only have "plug-in" highlighted in the automation window (Window/Automation or Apple+Numeric 4) and hit play with the track in write mode.

This will allow you to dial in your plugin parameters during loop playback (you have to make sure they are automation enabled in the plugin, of course) and once you get them set right you can let Pro Tools go through one more complete pass without touching any knobs. You'll basically have just done the same thing as "write to current enabled", it just takes longer and is dangerous if you forget you don't have "after write pass, switch to" not set to latch or touch.

Hope that makes sense!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2013, 04:13 AM
Fabe1234 Fabe1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tübingen/Germany
Posts: 1
Default Re: Write Automation to All Enabled Parameters in PT9 with mBox,

Quote:
Originally Posted by druck View Post
You posted this question a few months back so you've probably already found a workaround, but you can always just use write mode. Make sure under Setup/Preferences/Mixing you have "After write pass, switch to" switched to off, then make a selection on the track you wish to automate. Now, make sure you only have "plug-in" highlighted in the automation window (Window/Automation or Apple+Numeric 4) and hit play with the track in write mode.

This will allow you to dial in your plugin parameters during loop playback (you have to make sure they are automation enabled in the plugin, of course) and once you get them set right you can let Pro Tools go through one more complete pass without touching any knobs. You'll basically have just done the same thing as "write to current enabled", it just takes longer and is dangerous if you forget you don't have "after write pass, switch to" not set to latch or touch.

Hope that makes sense!


Hey Druck!

Thanks a lot! This is exactly what is looking for! A very big help for me and my workflow.
Cheers!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auro write to all enabled parameters - how with d control? murks ICON & C|24 6 04-01-2009 12:38 AM
"write to all enabled parameters" shortcut not working Eric L Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 05-05-2007 08:49 AM
EQIII automation bug using write to all enabled Matt Chan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-23-2005 03:33 PM
Write to all enabled parameters webstereo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-06-2005 11:39 AM
Write automation to all enabled parameters? MoviePhile 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-25-2003 08:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com