Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2014, 10:52 AM
evilstudios evilstudios is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 105
Default Read and Write drive are now playback and record is this correct

So I'm guessing the old read and write drives are now called playback and record in HD11.

With 2 drives can you tell me what is the best way to configure.
im pretty sure it must be , playback on PT drive and record on 2nd drive.
After a month i just realized i was recording to the system drive
Dont know why i didnt notice this earlier but I guess I will give props to Avid for improving this to the point where 60 track songs loaded with plugs are actually playing back from the system drive. so thumbs up Avid good work
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2014, 11:00 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Read and Write drive are now playback and record is this correct

In PT it has always been Playback, Record, or Transfer sense the option came in 6
It's the OS the Has Read, Write, or Read/Write access permissions

The session should be on the second drive with OS set to Read/Write (the ignorr permissions check box is a good thing) and set to Playback in Pro Tools
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2014, 11:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,340
Default Re: Read and Write drive are now playback and record is this correct

Yes, and back in the day that T/P/R drive assignment was a godsend because PT would automatically round-robin record to all R drives and skip T/P drives. That requirement changed with PT10HD and Disc Cache which made life a whole lot easier. Read more here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playback and Record Volume messages - read this! DigiTechSupt Storage Subsystems 47 07-16-2011 05:07 AM
Hard drive noise during read write... leftalive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-01-2011 02:08 PM
please write a script to trash the correct stuff theom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-06-2005 01:15 PM
PT can't find external drive to read/write! HELP!! Dan M. Tips & Tricks 2 03-08-2005 01:33 PM
Help! ProTools won't read/write to more than one drive?!?! uno1234 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-24-2001 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com