Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-01-2008, 11:24 AM

Default 003 Rack Phantom Power Not Working

Hi,
Just bought a 003 rack late december and just bought a couple of condenser mics (rode, behringer) and have plugged them into the xlr inputs on the back of the rack and turned on the phantom power. however having done this, created tracks and pressed the record button to check levels i recieve no levels through pro tools. having tried playing with the gains on then front of the rack and retrying the proccess many times i have still not solved this problem. i am new to this system so i was wondering if im missing something out or the phantom power is not actually working on my rack. all other instruments work through the inputs, guitars, drum machines, bass etc...including an unpowered JTS mutipurpose mic. but still nothing from phantom powered condenser mics.
If anyone has any help they could give me that would be thoroughly apreciated as im new to this, a little stuck for ideas, and feeling a little out of depth and not sure if the phnatom doesnt work on my rack
Thanks Chris
Old 02-01-2008, 02:35 PM

Default Re: 003 Rack Phantom Power Not Working

You played with the gains but did not mention if you switched over to Mic or Instrument, The button under the gain knob?
Old 02-01-2008, 02:48 PM

oh sorry yes iv switched on the mic/di and it still doesnt work, so confesed!! any ideas?? cheers
Old 02-02-2008, 10:18 AM

Well, you should not have to push the switch that's for instruments ( make it light yellow), you should be able to plug right in and turn on the phantom power and should be able to go without pushing the Mic/Instrument switch.