Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-13-2018, 10:09 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: Source Elements Live: Limitations?

Brandon, not had that issue myself. Are you using a screen grab or capture card?

Had a couple of days of using it in anger and it's been pretty much good as gold. Sync is rock solid with the Elgato capture card, that's now working via an active HDMI splitter with the other output going to the monitor. We've had the very occasional bump or freeze, but the client's internet connection has been a little patchy, going down completely once or twice local to him. The client loves SLP.

I've had some issues today which all ended up being because of a sample rate conflict my end. For whatever reason, my shiny new RX7 sometimes forces a rate change from 48 to 44.1, and it fritzes Session Link Pro when it does so. Have reverted to an MME driver on RX for now while I investigate, seems to be no way to fix the rate at 48 on ASIO.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-19-2018, 10:36 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,797
Default Re: Source Elements Live: Limitations?

I have been testing Source Live the last 2 days. It was easy to install. I already know about configuring Source Connect Pro, so getting the port forwarded etc was already done.

I had no problem figuring out how to get the video and audio streaming. Like the OP, latency was 15 seconds on the highest quality. Low latency was 4 seconds. Then everything in between.

Now, here is my dilemna: talkback and video chat. The OP couldn't find it and I couldn't either. What solved it was logging out of the Gateway (in your browser) then logging back in. Then it appeared on the client side. Cool. They have to JOIN VIDEO CHAT and give permission to their camera and mic. Once in, you can disable the video and have TB and chat. Ok. But.... How does it get to the streaming side? You have to log into the Gateway in your browser. Then you have to JOIN VIDEO CHAT. My problem? I do not have a video camera attached to my Mac Pro that is in the machine room, nor do I have a Mic connected to my Mac Pro. Why would I? I have a PT HDX system. So it appears you have to have a camera and mic connected to JOIN, then disable camera. But then, what about your TB feed to client? I have Source Nexus and that won't function as TB feed in and out.

I wish they'd put the TB and Video and Chat IN the Application itself.

Guess I'll check out Session Link Pro....
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-21-2018, 11:11 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,797
Default Re: Source Elements Live: Limitations?

follow up: ended up using my laptop as my communication device with the client. It's on my desk near me anyway, but usually shut for a session. It was fine. With the delay, I would mute the studio monitors.

Client can be a bit of a loose cannon, not tech savvy, and panic about tiny things or hear things in an odd way that no one else does, so I was on tenterhooks. Actual test went well. Client was happy with it. We'll do the actual session next week with 3 parties in 3 different locations.

TB and Video Chat probably won't happen in-App because of the latency.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 12-07-2018, 05:53 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: Source Elements Live: Limitations?

An update here from the Session Link Pro coalface - having great success with it theses days. Latency is always really low at around 1/4 second or so, and had very few glitches in terms of video (using the capture card, not screengrab) and audio. I'd say in a review of a 1 hour show - we're doing it all live now - the producer will flag up a phantom glitch 2 or 3 times at most.

Pricing is very good too imo - 24 euros per month.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Funny discovery with Source Elements... Drew Mazurek General Discussion 0 03-03-2017 07:02 AM
Source Connect/ Source Elements/ Anyone? soundartsonline Pro Tools 11 2 02-28-2017 08:01 AM
Sale: Source Elements' Source Nexus Basic and Pro SoundByLaura Buy & Sell 1 01-01-2017 09:30 PM
source-elements.com/Source-Connect clusterer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-30-2005 06:16 AM
Anybody seen this Source Elements plugin? Brian Stephens 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-10-2005 06:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com