Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2018, 02:57 AM
stooovie stooovie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Brno
Posts: 2
Default Can Protools auto-match&sync audio and video with matching TC?

I edit this piece in FCPX. There was an urgent need to edit BEFORE I had a chance to sync dual system audio.

The question is: can I edit with camera audio and leave syncing of dual-system sound to the Protools sound editor? Meaning, can it be easily done? My audio and video clips DO have matching TC and unique filenames. Thanks!

EDIT: there's way too many clips to sync manually in FCPX, as it doesn't have batch syncing. Sync-n-Link X is not an option now. Thanks for understanding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2018, 07:11 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,131
Default Re: Can Protools auto-match&sync audio and video with matching TC?

Yes if using the field recorder workflow.

But you better make sure you are absolutely right about everything you stated and that the sound editor knows how to do this. Otherwise you are just compounding a problem. It doesn’t matter if “people on the internet” know how to do this if your sound editor doesn’t. Talk to him/her.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2018, 08:18 AM
philper philper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: ALbany CA USA
Posts: 969
Default Re: Can Protools auto-match&sync audio and video with matching TC?

Another reason to never ever use FCPX on anything more than a tiny simple video. Not a team player.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2018, 06:11 AM
stooovie stooovie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Brno
Posts: 2
Default Re: Can Protools auto-match&sync audio and video with matching TC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philper View Post
Another reason to never ever use FCPX on anything more than a tiny simple video. Not a team player.
I have delivered many broadcast things with FCPX. AAF/OMF isn't a problem but this very time, we absolutely had to edit before being able to sync. It would probably be a very similar issue with Media Composer. Thanks though :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2018, 02:00 PM
Scott G Scott G is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Posts: 57
Default Re: Can Protools auto-match&sync audio and video with matching TC?

Not wanting to hijack this thread but I have a project coming from a client editing on Final Cut Pro X and was wondering if it can create OMFs or AAFs.

Thanks
Scott
__________________
Scott
Auckland New Zealand
PT12.7.1 SSL MX4, SSL Alpha-Link MADI-SX
HP Z240 Workstation, I7-3770 3.4GHz, 32GB RAM, Win10 Pro 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2018, 02:47 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,131
Default Re: Can Protools auto-match&sync audio and video with matching TC?

No. Not directly.

You need third party software
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-26-2018, 10:23 AM
RecRoom RecRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 287
Default Re: Can Protools auto-match&sync audio and video with matching TC?

In order to use Pro Tools' Field Recorder workflow you MUST have at least 2 things matching in the metadata of the AAF audio and recorder files in order for the files to link up. And one of those 2 things must be the timecode. I am unaware if FCP X preserves metadata but you should do a test. If not, you may be able to export an XML from FCP and import it into ediload, which in turn will export a ProTools session that will allow you to match up the field recorder files.
__________________
Jeff Hinton
Editor/Mixer
http://www.jeffhinton.tv
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-26-2018, 04:14 PM
philper philper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: ALbany CA USA
Posts: 969
Default Re: Can Protools auto-match&sync audio and video with matching TC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
No. Not directly.

You need third party software

You need X2Pro, and the resulting export is still a dog's breakfast. FCPX is not a tool for use on jobs where exchange with other depts (esp sound) is required. If you can finish within FCPX, then rock on. But the exports I've been getting from even well-meaning FCPX users are so time-consuming to unravel that I either charge extra if they insist on exporting from that app or I turn down the job altogether. The longer and more complex the sound track of a project is the more I have found this to be true.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-26-2018, 05:56 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,131
Default Re: Can Protools auto-match&sync audio and video with matching TC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philper View Post
You need X2Pro, and the resulting export is still a dog's breakfast. FCPX is not a tool for use on jobs where exchange with other depts (esp sound) is required. If you can finish within FCPX, then rock on. But the exports I've been getting from even well-meaning FCPX users are so time-consuming to unravel that I either charge extra if they insist on exporting from that app or I turn down the job altogether. The longer and more complex the sound track of a project is the more I have found this to be true.
Still have a copy of Automatic Duck Pro Export 5.1 to do exports from FCPX.
(other option is to send the FCP X to Logic Pro X and then use Logic Pro X to do the export of an AAF -- which it can do.)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto Match Pull Factors & 25fps to 24fps workflow tj_davies Post - Surround - Video 4 03-05-2008 09:26 AM
Auto Match Indicator cubasteve 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-08-2007 10:55 AM
"Auto Match Pull Factors" lancebrwn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-22-2003 10:37 AM
ProTools and Video Sync soma323brooklyn Post - Surround - Video 9 06-27-2003 11:55 AM
ProTools and Video Sync soma323brooklyn Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-26-2003 12:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com