Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2018, 09:35 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 644
Default (OT) Ensemble to CP750

Today I tried to connect Apogee Ensemble to a Dolby CP750 via optical cable. All I got into the Dolby unit was left and right channels even though the Apogee software was showing all channels of a 5.1 feed. Any ideas why just stereo was going to the Apogee. Anyone tried this setup?
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.7 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.7 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2018, 11:10 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,797
Default Re: (OT) Ensemble to CP750

Quote:
Digital Outputs:
Optical OUT: Supports ADAT, SMUX & S/PDIF
ADAT: 16 channels 44.1-48 kHz on 2 Toslink connectors
SMUX: 8 channels 88.2-96 kHz on 2 Toslink connectors
S/PDIF: 4 channels, up to 96 kHz on 2 Toslink connectors
Looks like you need 2 Toslinks...

And the CP740 only accepts S/PDIF in on Digital 4.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2018, 11:00 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 644
Default Re: (OT) Ensemble to CP750

Quote:
Originally Posted by minister View Post
Looks like you need 2 Toslinks...

And the CP740 only accepts S/PDIF in on Digital 4.
Yes and just stereo uncompressed S/PDIF according to the blurb on the CP750. It will accept a compressed multichannel stream but the Ensemble does not output that on S/PDIF.
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.7 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.7 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2018, 12:05 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,642
Default Re: (OT) Ensemble to CP750

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reckless Erik View Post
Today I tried to connect Apogee Ensemble to a Dolby CP750 via optical cable. All I got into the Dolby unit was left and right channels even though the Apogee software was showing all channels of a 5.1 feed. Any ideas why just stereo was going to the Apogee. Anyone tried this setup?
The CP750 will only accept AC3 stream via its optical in other wise it will play it as stereo.
You need to use either Analog db25 connector or AES db25 one in order to be able to play 5.1 or 7.1 material.
Pay attention that Dolby has not a standard Tascam / Digi pinouts but the Yamaha one.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2018.10 HD ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-2018, 08:22 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 644
Default Re: (OT) Ensemble to CP750

Thank you Michael. That is most helpful.
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.7 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.7 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools to Dolby CP750 via ? nigel smith Post - Surround - Video 4 06-07-2018 02:56 AM
Apparition de saturation sur l'ensemble des pistes - ensemble inaudible [Résolue] ErwanLT Le Forum en Français 3 04-01-2018 09:35 PM
Dolby CP750 Reckless Erik Post - Surround - Video 4 09-04-2013 01:35 AM
PT 9.0.6 HD TDM with Apogee Ensemble Paul B. Pro Tools 9 1 04-01-2012 05:59 AM
Anyone using Vienna Ensemble Pro? WildHoney Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 02-24-2010 09:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com