Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2018, 10:20 PM
SigFriedChicken's Avatar
SigFriedChicken SigFriedChicken is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 318
Default "Cycle Playlists" shortcut logic

Does anyone understand the logic behind the "Cycle Playlists" shortcut (Shift+Up or Shift+Down)?

My expectation was that this shortcut would adjust the playlists so that either the second or bottom playlists are now the main playlist. But it seems to instead be grabbing playlists from seemingly random places (often from the middle of the playlists). Why would it pull from the middle? I can't figure it out any rhyme or reason to this.

Is there any way to just quickly move the bottom, or second, playlist to the main playlist. I know I can use promote, but then I have to do a bunch of extra legwork to preemptively relocate whatever is already in the main playlist so it doesn't get overwritten, and then rename the playlists, etc.

In general, the playlist ordering seems needlessly confusing.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4 | OS X High Sierra | RME
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2018, 12:58 PM
SigFriedChicken's Avatar
SigFriedChicken SigFriedChicken is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 318
Default Re: "Cycle Playlists" shortcut logic

I had forgotten that you can simply right-click on the main track and choose the desired playlist from the drop-down list. I can just use that. I can't believe I had forgotten about it.

I'm still confused about how the "Shift+Up/Shift+Down" playlist shortcuts work, but I guess I can live without them now that I remember the simpler right-click-and-pick-a-playlist method.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4 | OS X High Sierra | RME
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2018, 02:46 PM
DAWgEAR's Avatar
DAWgEAR DAWgEAR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California, USA
Posts: 314
Default Re: "Cycle Playlists" shortcut logic

If you create a first playlist and name it, e.g., "Playlist 1 and then subsequently create playlists named "Playlist 2", "Playlist 3", etc., it seems to cycle them in the order (or reverse order) in which they were created.
__________________
Pro Tools HD Native 2018.7 | HD Omni | MacBook Pro 15.4": 2.9 GHZ - 16 GB - 1 TB - Radeon Pro 460 | iMac Pro: 10-Core 3.0 GHZ - 64 GB - 2 TB - Vega 56 | Sonnet Echo Express SE II for PT HD Native PCIe and UAD 2 Quad PCIe cards
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard Shortcut for "Track List", "MIDI Editor Pane", and "Clip List" EdgarRothermich Pro Tools 12 2 10-04-2017 02:18 PM
Alt-Shortcut to reach "Edit" > "Automation" > joachim Pro Tools Software (Win) 0 10-13-2014 08:14 AM
Pro Tools freezes - "restoring audio playlists" aldersyde Pro Tools 10 6 05-13-2014 03:40 PM
Difference between "Go to Song Start" and "Return to start of session" shortcut pericoloso Pro Tools 10 2 09-22-2013 12:44 AM
MC Mix connects correctly first time, "Network Error" after power cycle. A Chapman Artist Series 4 07-18-2011 03:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com