Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2018, 05:04 PM
austinStudioHouse austinStudioHouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 2
Default Layouts not saving to PT sessions (yes another thread)

I am loosing my mind. I cannot get layouts to save to protools sessions. There have been a few threads dedicated to this here and I've followed everything and cannot get it to work. I have the prefs all set and the little star is on PT in the WS section.

I can't try the session with saved data trick Eddie put out because the file is not there anymore. Besides, I have sessions already done I need to get working.

Anyone have any other ideas? I'm on all the latest software.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2018, 06:59 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 517
Default Re: Layouts not saving to PT sessions (yes another thread)

Greetings,

I would first ask what the history is? Have you been on 18.3x244 and PT 2018.4 for several months and have you previously been able to transport the surface data with the session files? Do you ever use Title file instead of or in combination with? Feel free to send me an example file if you'd like as a personal message and we can get to the bottom of it.


best,



Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2018, 05:41 PM
austinStudioHouse austinStudioHouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 2
Default Re: Layouts not saving to PT sessions (yes another thread)

Jeff,

Thank you for the response which has enabled me to fix my problem. I was on 18.3.0.227 which was not the latest version. I have confirmed that I am now able to save layouts. Wonderful.

Now, how could I have known there was a "DOT" release of 18.3.0 without downloading the linked file in my products section? Nothing indicates there was a build newer than what I have except the actual file name, but you don't see that unless you really go looking for it. I never received an email or anything telling me there was a newer build. I don't see an announcement here either. Am I missing something, am I blind? Which is all entirely possible. I would really like to know because this wasted a ton of time and I thought I had done everything right.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2018, 08:12 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 517
Default Re: Layouts not saving to PT sessions (yes another thread)

Glad you got it working. I'm going to defer to Eddie on this one as I don't know all the details. I do know there were last minute critical bugs found and they chose to do a software revision. You are correct that depending on when you downloaded from your Avid account you could have gotten one of a few different versions. Version 18.3.0.244 is the current final and recommended version of WSControl.



best,



Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2018, 02:06 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: Layouts not saving to PT sessions (yes another thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by austinStudioHouse View Post
Now, how could I have known there was a "DOT" release of 18.3.0 without downloading the linked file in my products section?
Sorry this was a mistake in the last release. We thought we had swapped out the bad files before too many people had downloaded it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tracks/Layouts not displaying properly when opening sessions jmattchan Pro Tools | S6 1 01-05-2018 03:27 PM
saving le sessions for HD therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-03-2007 01:46 PM
saving sessions to dvd woodbeatz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-10-2005 02:42 PM
Saving sessions Steven John General Discussion 5 05-29-2002 10:13 AM
need help saving sessions to cd jasonvorghees 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-15-2001 01:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com