Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 03-27-2009, 08:45 PM

Default Installation Problems...Please Help Me!

Hey guys,

I am a brand new Pro Tools user. I have been using various other programs for years and currently mainly use Digital Performer on a Mac for most of my projects. I picked up an MBox Mini and Pro Tools LE for the sole purpose of prepping sessions and transferring files between studios as I work.

I installed Pro Tools LE 7 and 8 with complete ease on both my Mac Book Pro and Mac Pro. I thought it would also be very handy to have it installed on my PC as well. I have not been successful at all in this process.

Pro Tools 7, which I was attempting to install from the install disc at first notified me that my computer was not up to date. I turned on Automatic Updates and got everything up to speed. I am now using Service Pack 3 and everything else that Microsoft thought I needed. At this point, Pro Tools 7 did begin to go through the install process but would hang every time once I connected the MBox (as prompted by the software during installation). I would plug in the MBox and then my machine would sit there for about 5 seconds and then my monitor would shut off...almost as if my computer had been powered down. I would then have to actually restart my machine by pulling to power. This happened time after time.

So I downloaded the Pro Tools 8 upgrade from Digidesign and tried installing it. Every time I try to unzip the file it hangs on me and won't finish. I thought maybe there had been an error with the download so I downloaded it again just to be sure. The problem still persists.