Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2015, 08:38 AM
ArfurGee ArfurGee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, England
Posts: 19
Default PT11 HD, Graphics crash when moving clips

Hi,

I haven't seen this mentioned anywhere else for a while, but is anyone else having graphics crashes when moving clips up and down tracks?

I'm in constant danger of dropping clips over each other as I move them vertically up or down the screen. As I scroll or move up whilst holding clips, the tracks appear to be blank and/or the the tracks themselves lose the tramlines. It's a basic problem but insanely annoying!

I'm running a new Mac pro (AMD FirePro D500 3072 MB) with PT11 HD.

Anyone?!

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/247307-3779

Last edited by Avid; 08-25-2016 at 05:41 PM. Reason: Added IdeaScale link.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2015, 04:34 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Question Re: PT11 HD, Graphics crash when moving clips

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArfurGee View Post
I'm running a new Mac pro (AMD FirePro D500 3072 MB) with PT11 HD.
Which version of 11? Which OS? How many monitors?
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2015, 06:48 AM
ArfurGee ArfurGee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, England
Posts: 19
Default Re: PT11 HD, Graphics crash when moving clips

PT11.3.1 HD, Yosemite 10.10.4, I have 3 screens running.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2015, 11:51 AM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Question Re: PT11 HD, Graphics crash when moving clips

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArfurGee View Post
PT11.3.1 HD, Yosemite 10.10.4, I have 3 screens running.
Is each screen on a separate Thunderbolt bus?
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2015, 01:54 AM
ArfurGee ArfurGee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, England
Posts: 19
Default Re: PT11 HD, Graphics crash when moving clips

Ah no they weren't, I'll try separating them and let you know.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2015, 02:05 AM
ArfurGee ArfurGee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, England
Posts: 19
Default Re: PT11 HD, Graphics crash when moving clips

OK, all on different busses now but still the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2015, 06:47 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Question Re: PT11 HD, Graphics crash when moving clips

Please keep in mind that v11.3.1 was not qualified for OS X v10.10.4.

If you go to ~/Library/Logs/CrashReporter/, do you see any logs for Pro Tools? You may not, as Avid has eschewed OS X's crash reporter for their own crash reporting mechanism that uses Google's BreakPad. It's worth looking though, since Avid's crash logs, if present, are encrypted and unreadable by people with the decryption key.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-02-2015, 02:20 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,372
Default Re: PT11 HD, Graphics crash when moving clips

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArfurGee View Post
Hi,

I haven't seen this mentioned anywhere else for a while, but is anyone else having graphics crashes when moving clips up and down tracks?

I'm in constant danger of dropping clips over each other as I move them vertically up or down the screen. As I scroll or move up whilst holding clips, the tracks appear to be blank and/or the the tracks themselves lose the tramlines. It's a basic problem but insanely annoying!

I'm running a new Mac pro (AMD FirePro D500 3072 MB) with PT11 HD.

Anyone?!
Yes, I get this all the time too. Since updating to 10.10.3 (from 10.8.5). When I move chips the graphic sometimes goes bananas and it *seems* like your are dropping things onto empty tracks but when you do you realize that they were the wrong tracks and also that you wiped something out that you could not see.

Seen this on many different installations of 11.3.1 on 10.10.3 on both 5,1 MPs and Cylinder Macs.

Guess it's a bug.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-02-2015, 08:49 AM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Question Re: PT11 HD, Graphics crash when moving clips

Have either of you logged this at protools.ideascale.com?
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-03-2015, 06:56 AM
ArfurGee ArfurGee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, England
Posts: 19
Default Re: PT11 HD, Graphics crash when moving clips

No not yet, will do though.

Actually it turns out this happening to few other people that I'm working with at the moment, this is obviously a bigger problem than I thought, it's becoming increasingly annoying.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
moving clips fmilian Pro Tools 11 6 05-08-2015 05:11 AM
moving all the clips! TakenGrace Pro Tools 11 6 06-21-2014 01:07 PM
PT11 loses automation when moving clips Frank Kruse Pro Tools 11 4 02-20-2014 12:54 PM
GUI graphics bug after moving regions! crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-22-2011 02:55 PM
PT7 Waveform graphics moving bug? Vinylizor Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 05-02-2006 09:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com