Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > RTAS & TDM Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2015, 08:32 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,319
Default Waves 9.6 and newer do not support TDM

Just a heads up to everyone, do not update to waves v9.6 if you are running a TDM system. Just got this email from waves:

Quote:
Dear Valued Waves user,

As of January 2016, Waves will stop supporting the TDM format. Any plugins installed or updated via the Waves Central application will not support TDM and will cause previously installed plugins to not support TDM.

If you need TDM support, please visit this page to download an offline installer, covering the most recent versions of TDM-compatible Waves software.

Best regards,
The Waves Team
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2015, 08:57 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,010
Default Re: Waves 9.6 and newer do not support TDM

Yeah I got this to I've downloaded the offline installer I'm still not completely sure what happens if you do update do you lose your licenses ??
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2015, 09:16 AM
Wall2Wall Wall2Wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Starling City
Posts: 766
Default Re: Waves 9.6 and newer do not support TDM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
I'm still not completely sure what happens if you do update do you lose your licenses ??
Try it and let us know.

...Any plug-ins installed or updated via the Waves Central application will not support TDM and will cause previously installed plug-ins to not support TDM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2015, 07:48 AM
dtmprod dtmprod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 433
Default Re: Waves 9.6 and newer do not support TDM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
Yeah I got this to I've downloaded the offline installer I'm still not completely sure what happens if you do update do you lose your licenses ??
I had a similar question so I called tech support. Apparently anything 'new' that you install moving forward will remove & update any current Waves TDM plugins, thereby rendering Waves TDM unusable. Bottomline, TDM users are now frozen at current version & unable to to do any updates or buy new plugins without running risk of losing their present TDM functionality. Unless you're willing to create a dual boot system where one is 'frozen' & the other 'updatable'.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2015, 12:20 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,479
Default Re: Waves 9.6 and newer do not support TDM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
Yeah I got this to I've downloaded the offline installer I'm still not completely sure what happens if you do update do you lose your licenses ??
Hi,

I doubt you would lose any licences. My guess is any new waveshells are not going to be compatible with previous waveshells so you won't be able to mix new with old.

I currently mix waveshells 8 and 9. 9 for anything that was new and not in 8. And 8 for everything else as version 8 works better for me as 9 introduced a massive problem with mouse scrolling support where it will adjust the wrong parameter and not the one you are hovering over! All fine on version 8, all snafu on version 9. waves said nothing had changed.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2015, 02:46 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,267
Default Waves drops TDM support

Not sure where to put this and if one of the moderators can find a better spot - move it at will. Got an email this morning and Waves as of January 2016 will no longer support TDM format plugins. Here's the text of the email:

Dear Valued Waves user,

As of January 2016, Waves will stop supporting the TDM format. Any plugins installed or updated via the Waves Central application will not support TDM and will cause previously installed plugins to not support TDM.

If you need TDM support, please visit this page to download an offline installer, covering the most recent versions of TDM-compatible Waves software.

Best regards,
The Waves Team

and here's a link to the Waves page for mroe as well as the offline installer: http://www.waves.com/support/tdm-no-longer-supported-waves-v9-6-or-later
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2015, 02:57 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,524
Default Re: Waves drops TDM support

Surprised it took them this long.

TDM PT rigs are frozen forever at PT10.3.10 and whatever OS. They'd be stupid to put any more resources into its development.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2015, 05:26 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,049
Default Re: Waves drops TDM support

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
Surprised it took them this long.

TDM PT rigs are frozen forever at PT10.3.10 and whatever OS. They'd be stupid to put any more resources into its development.
Is it stupid to support a platform that tons of studios and music pro's are still using because HDX is not usable as a DSP based system due to a profound lack of proper DSP plugins. For quite awhile tracking and mixing music did not involve jumping through hoops and making compromises to your workflow. The only platform that exists in that form is still Pro Tools TDM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-2015, 04:11 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,524
Default Re: Waves drops TDM support

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
Is it stupid to support a platform that tons of studios and music pro's are still using because HDX is not usable as a DSP based system due to a profound lack of proper DSP plugins. For quite awhile tracking and mixing music did not involve jumping through hoops and making compromises to your workflow. The only platform that exists in that form is still Pro Tools TDM.
Right, so just as TDM rigs are frozen with regard to OS and PT version, so should Waves' plugins. It makes perfect sense.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-29-2015, 06:27 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Waves drops TDM support

Waves is dropping future support for TDM.
Waves has released an offline installer that will put everything that is TDM today on your machine. So in essence any PT10HD TDM rigs that work with Waves will work with this installer. So what does "dropping support mean"? No more new stuff for TDM. I fail to understand why this would upset anyone. The system (TDM) has been EOL for years.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another (newer) video about Waves Digigrid nst7 General Discussion 30 02-09-2013 08:41 AM
Digi support: Can I download newer updates for third party plugins than whats posted? Violet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-06-2009 11:41 AM
bought newer G4, how do I transfer PTLE, Waves etc b mcgibney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-24-2006 10:54 PM
Waves support please help me WUP my IR1 sirpucho Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-07-2006 06:49 AM
WAVES Protools7 update and Waves tech support x9blade 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 11-11-2005 06:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com