Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Old 08-01-2008, 12:36 PM

Default X-Curve and Levels

Hey all you post mixers...

I've been mixing to picture for about 20 years.

I have some questions designed to get a better understanding of what is actually happening in different sized mixing and playback environments…

1) The reason for the X curve…

My understanding of the reason for this, is that in a large room, the high end builds up because of an additive effect from the reverb in the room, thereby necessitating a roll off of the top on the an RTA to keep the “apparent” top end sounding correct for the human listener. We did this for concerts back when I did music, and I would like to know if this is the same reason for the X Curve or is there is another reason.

2) Why my mid field mixing stage translated perfectly to tuned large theaters here in LA with no x-curve at 85db?…

I had a stage outfitted with M&K speakers. While we had to do lots of tuning for the low end, we didn’t touch the top end. The speakers were about 10 feet from the console and the room level was set to 85db spl.

I had Dolby confirm that my tuning was on, and test played back my mixes on large stages and theaters around town and everything sounded just right. They also sound great on home DVD.

Why did my mixes sound just right in both large and small rooms???

Assumtion: If indeed the reason for the X-curve is to compensate for the acoustic build up of high end in a big room, wouldn’t something mixed in either (big with X or small without) translate? I know people say it doesn’t, but why. The only reason I can think of would be that the X curve is there for other reasons…?