Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2004, 09:11 PM
Willard Dennis Willard Dennis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Moorestown, NJ
Posts: 6
Default Anyone use DFH Superior out there?

Hey all,

Looking for some quality MIDI drum samples to compose with, and ran across DFH. The samples on their site sound AWESOME! Anyways, I was wondering if anyone here has used DFH Superior with PT (I run PT LE 6.2.3) and any pitfalls. etc. The main question I have is, the plugin via ReWire -- any problems?

TIA,
Will
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2004, 11:12 PM
GORILLA GORILLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Your Ma's house...hehehe
Posts: 1,812
Default Re: Anyone use DFH Superior out there?

Yep! DFHS is quite awesome!!!!!!! Just installed it today-took almost two hours...5 DVD's/4 dual sided..37gigs worth of 24bit or 16bit samples. You have to register and download the rewire, but it works great! There's actually three plug-ins -----Drummer---Percussion----and cocktail.
I heard it works with your set up, I'm running OSX 10.2.8 PTLE 6.1.1 and smooth sailing all day! And I mean ALL day! There's a few interface quirks, but I know the Toontrack boys are on it.
And it totally BLOWS away DFH I/add-on kit.
I ran eight mono plug-ins and two stereo plug-ins with a midi track all day and not a burp
Microphone bleed control is shwweeet, DFHS will probably be the best bang for the buck I ever bought...........well, right next to Vintage Warmer


Oh yeah, 53 page operation manual too (booklet...not PDF like many companies are doing now!)
__________________
METAL LABS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2004, 07:25 AM
Chris Coleman Chris Coleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Anyone use DFH Superior out there?

Quote:
DFHS will probably be the best bang for the buck I ever bought
Okay, I'm lazy - how much?
__________________
It's not rocket surgery
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2004, 09:06 AM
GORILLA GORILLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Your Ma's house...hehehe
Posts: 1,812
Default Re: Anyone use DFH Superior out there?

Quote:
Quote:
DFHS will probably be the best bang for the buck I ever bought
Okay, I'm lazy - how much?
I pre-ordered $209.00 includes next day FedEx. You get 85,000 unprocessed samples 35GB worth.
Multiple outputs, 5 drumkits, 60 cymbals, 17 snares, percussion & cocktail kit. It's da' shizzzle in ultimate studio drums samples!

__________________
METAL LABS
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2004, 09:31 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: Anyone use DFH Superior out there?

Does DFH come with samples only or do they come with drum sequences organised as fills, verse etc.?
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2004, 09:55 AM
GORILLA GORILLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Your Ma's house...hehehe
Posts: 1,812
Default Re: Anyone use DFH Superior out there?


There's FIVE of them- DFH multi format/ DFH Akai/ Add-On Kit/ DFH II/ and the monster DFH Superior
DFH comes with samples and a loops C.D. & various midi files!!!
DFHS doesn't. It does have the demo songs included!
DFH works in Battery in OSX
DFH/ with the Add-on kit will work in Reason on the NNXT sampler
DFHS has it's own sampler, but you gotta sequence in PTLE
I don't know much about DFH II, I don't think it's out yet. DFH II has one kit using N.I.'s Kompakt sampler.
Time to go play!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!....
__________________
METAL LABS
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2004, 10:12 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: Anyone use DFH Superior out there?

Thanks for the response.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2004, 11:38 AM
tgfoyl tgfoyl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 84
Default Re: Anyone use DFH Superior out there?

Have you or anybody else done any A/B comparisons with Fxpansion BFD Drum module? Now I am undecided between these two. Unfortunately I can only get one right know
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2004, 12:13 PM
Muxlow Muxlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 217
Default Re: Anyone use DFH Superior out there?

Quote:
I pre-ordered $209.00 includes next day FedEx.
Can you still get it anywhere for this price?
__________________
Mac G4 Dual 533
1.5g Ram
OS 10.2.8
Reason 2.5
ProTools LE 6.1
Digi001
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-16-2004, 12:56 PM
GORILLA GORILLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Your Ma's house...hehehe
Posts: 1,812
Default Re: Anyone use DFH Superior out there?

Quote:
Have you or anybody else done any A/B comparisons with Fxpansion BFD Drum module? Now I am undecided between these two. Unfortunately I can only get one right know
Nope. No need to! DFH Superior is the one for us! We do Metal music and knew it would be the icing on the cake, and it is.
Plus at the time I got it, there was to me and my fellow band members and still is no comparison---
BFD 9GB -$329.00
DFHS 37GB -$199.00 + $9.75 shipping
Even now DFHS is cheaper.
Listen to ALL the demos of both BFD & DFHS. If you can't decide which one to get from listening to them...I don't know what to say
__________________
METAL LABS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Superior Drummer 2.3.2 w/PT 10.3.8 & 11.1.2 shultzee13 Virtual Instruments 3 03-20-2014 10:28 PM
PT9 and Superior Drummer 2.0 LarsKatz Windows 7 06-13-2011 10:04 AM
Superior 2 on LE8 jkd62 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-21-2009 05:10 AM
DFH Superior in PT successfully? anyone? coryc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-05-2005 06:45 PM
DFH Superior dubaifox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-28-2004 09:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com