Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2018, 09:00 PM
T.McCartney T.McCartney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default Progressively worse latency

I have been having an issue lately with latency getting progressively worse. When I first began to monitor my input I have very little to virtually no latency, but within 45 seconds to a minute the latency is so bad it makes tracking impossible. I'm using a Dell Optiplex 780 with with Windows 7 professional and the latest version of Pro Tools 10 HD. I'm using a Tascam US 16x08 as my interface and monitoring it directly from the headphone jack. Buffer is locked at 256 samples and 85% of the CPU is allocated. The only other device currently in my setup is a Digidesign Control 24.

Any help is greatly appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2018, 03:35 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,911
Default Re: Progressively worse latency

Is Windows using the Tascam for it's sounds? It shouldn't be allowed to do that.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2018, 08:26 AM
T.McCartney T.McCartney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: Progressively worse latency

The Tascam is being used as my I/O's for Pro Tools. No windows sounds come through the unit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2018, 01:40 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,886
Default Re: Progressively worse latency

Quote:
Originally Posted by T.McCartney View Post
The Tascam is being used as my I/O's for Pro Tools. No windows sounds come through the unit.
It might be worth checking this in Sound>Properties as Windows update can(and recently DID here) reset some settings
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2018, 02:16 PM
T.McCartney T.McCartney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: Progressively worse latency

I have managed to determine that the latency issue is not being caused by Windows or my Tascam, but in fact is being caused by my Control 24. I disconnected it and was able to monitor with virtually zero latency. Not sure how the Control 24 is causing this latency as there is no audio being inputted, outputted or monitored from the board. I guess I should have expected this from used gear, but couldn't pass it up for the price. If anyone has experience with the Control 24, I'm all ears.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2018, 11:32 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,886
Default Re: Progressively worse latency

I am wondering why your buffer is locked(at all, never mind at 256) That makes no sense UNLESS Windows is using the Tascam as its default playback device in Sound>Properties).

Having said that, since the Control24 uses Ethernet, it makes me wonder 2 points; #1-how fast is the Ethernet port(could you install a faster gigabyte card??) and/or #2-would a Ethernet driver update help?

On a side note, Nyrinck is almost ready to release software that will allow Control24 and ProControl to work with PT11/12/2018
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-23-2018, 12:29 PM
T.McCartney T.McCartney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: Progressively worse latency

The buffer issue has been sorted out (lack of coffee had me forgetting I had change it in the Tascam setting application and not in Pro Tools itself).
As for the E-Thernet port I will definitely look into your suggestions.

If the Control 24 could be made functional with 11/12/18 that would be wonderful. The board is the only reason holding me back from upgrading.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11.1.2 much worse than PT 11 garnoil Post - Surround - Video 12 04-04-2014 05:45 AM
Progressively Worse 7.3--Digi Support ReadThis!!!! dasmetre 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 12-22-2006 07:49 PM
Progressively Slowing Down Scrubbing Effect ? .... TheNoize Tips & Tricks 7 11-06-2006 02:07 PM
worse and worse every day. LE Mbox truly BLOWS! tomcat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 11-18-2003 09:21 PM
WHAT IS WORSE?? Tell Tips & Tricks 4 10-10-2001 04:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com