Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Old 04-29-2018, 05:42 PM

Default I am new here and asking for some help

Hello and thank you to anyone who responds as I greatly appreciate it.
I am running PT 11.3.2 Yosemite 10.10 3.4 GHz Intel Core i5, 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3.
My interface is an Apollo 8p. I am an old school producer who in the past, made edits with a razor, a grease pencil and a block.. I am not good with or understand much about computers at all.. Just fair warning, even though it is embarrassing.

My issue is PT locking up when i highlight and expand a region horizontally to edit. I am using an apple mouse, swiping my finger horizontally to get from one place in the session to the next. I started slowly and is progressively worse until now it wont even fee itself enough to force quit PT.. I'm exhausted trying to figure it out.. Can someone help?
Thank you so much.
I should add that i have a dual monitor set up and when this happens my screen display changes on one or both monitors..
Old 04-29-2018, 06:39 PM

Default Re: I am new here and asking for some help

I feel as though I may have made a break through that I dont quite understand. My second monitor is a 48 tv connected with a thunderbolt to HDMI adapter.. If I reboot the computer without the adapter being plugged in.. I cant get PT to crash no matter how hard I scroll throught the session with my mouse. I can even plug the adapter back in after it is launched and I'm still solid and the second monitor works.. However, when I restart the computer while the adapter is in, that is when it all locks up... why??
Old 04-30-2018, 04:30 AM

A little more system info would be nice like: