Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2016, 04:26 PM
kirkbross's Avatar
kirkbross kirkbross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 342
Default Remove "missing" video from session??

I have a session that used to have a video, but no longer does.

I get a "missing video" dialog every time I open the session.

I can't find the video clip in my clips bin. Missing AUDIO shows up in italics, but no sign of video clips in the bin.

"Show" video doesn't exist in the clip dropdown.

How do I get rid of this freaking video so it stops asking for it?

(latest Pro Toos 12, Mac 10.11.5)
__________________
Pearlman Church Microphone > Great River MP-2NV > Warm Audio WA-76 > Apogee Symphony MK II 8x8+8MP > PT2018 on 2018 Mac Mini with 32GB of RAM running Mojave.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2016, 07:39 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,674
Default Re: Remove "missing" video from session??

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirkbross View Post
I have a session that used to have a video, but no longer does.

I get a "missing video" dialog every time I open the session.

I can't find the video clip in my clips bin. Missing AUDIO shows up in italics, but no sign of video clips in the bin.

"Show" video doesn't exist in the clip dropdown.

How do I get rid of this freaking video so it stops asking for it?

(latest Pro Toos 12, Mac 10.11.5)
I assume NO but have to ask just in case .. do you still have a video track in the session ?? a hidden one maybe ?? if so delete that track .. you could Import Session Data to a new Bank Session but that would be last resort ..

if none of this is relevant please just disregard ..

cheers john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2016, 06:09 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,121
Default Re: Remove "missing" video from session??

That's something I've experienced too, you can't treat video files the same way as audio files.
For example if I accidentally delete a video file from the hard drive that's been used in a session, Pro Tools will ask for it even if I delete the empty video track and clean the pool or whatever the window on the right side is called. I'm pretty sure it's my lack of understanding rather than a problem with the software so I'm subscribing to this thread to see if someone knows the solution.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2016, 07:30 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,657
Default Re: Remove "missing" video from session??

Maybe have a look into the Workspace Browser, under the sessions video files folder. And delete it there.
__________________
PT 11.3.1 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 64GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2016, 10:39 AM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 608
Default Re: Remove "missing" video from session??

You can find the filename in the clip bin. The name will be italic and gray. Select it then either shift+cmd+B or click the arrow in the clip bin top right corner and select clear. This will remove the reference to the video file from the session. Same goes for missing audio files that are no longer needed.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2016, 03:29 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,121
Default Re: Remove "missing" video from session??

Not that easy, at least in my case.

--update--I still have to check what Joachim said, will get back as soon as I find out if it works or not.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com

Last edited by amagras; 09-23-2016 at 07:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-24-2016, 10:15 AM
Nirvana5253 Nirvana5253 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 30
Default Re: Remove "missing" video from session??

View the clip bin by "select unused" then delete and remove from session and disk.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-26-2016, 01:56 AM
Jon_Atkinson Jon_Atkinson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 824
Default Re: Remove "missing" video from session??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nirvana5253 View Post
View the clip bin by "select unused" then delete and remove from session and disk.
I am actually getting this behaviour too, same as Kirkbross.

The video file is not in the Clip Bin, and has been removed from the session (not hidden, the track was deleted from the session and the clip deleted from the Clip Bin)

I still get the error message on startup that 1 Video File is missing, and then a couple of minutes later the Task Manager popup saying that it can't be located.

Searching in the Workspace shows that there is no video file in the 'video files' folder.

I believe that this 'bug' is created when a new session is created using 'save as' and then the video file from the original session is deleted. The session retains some sort of link to the video file even though it's been removed from the session properly.
__________________
Mac Westmere 6 core 3.3Ghz, 24GB RAM, OS 10.13.6, Protools 2018.7 HD, Antelope Orion 32, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, UAD Quad PCIe
AJA I/O Express
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-26-2016, 03:49 AM
onosendai onosendai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 82
Default Re: Remove "missing" video from session??

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirkbross View Post
I have a session that used to have a video, but no longer does.

I get a "missing video" dialog every time I open the session.

I can't find the video clip in my clips bin. Missing AUDIO shows up in italics, but no sign of video clips in the bin.

"Show" video doesn't exist in the clip dropdown.

How do I get rid of this freaking video so it stops asking for it?

(latest Pro Toos 12, Mac 10.11.5)
If the bin menu "show" doesn't list "Video" try using the hotkey ctrl/cmd+shift+3 and check if the file appears. If the clip bin has many files try and "Sort by" "Clip Type" to make it easier for yourself.
As has already been mentioned check the workspace browser video folder and if there is still no dice, maybe try and delete the "WaveCache.wfm" file in the session folder before opening the session in pro tools.
__________________
i7 5820K, 32GB | Windows 10 Pro, PT 2019.5 Ultimate | RME FF802
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-26-2016, 03:57 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,331
Default Re: Remove "missing" video from session??

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirkbross View Post
I have a session that used to have a video, but no longer does.

I get a "missing video" dialog every time I open the session.

I can't find the video clip in my clips bin. Missing AUDIO shows up in italics, but no sign of video clips in the bin.

"Show" video doesn't exist in the clip dropdown.

How do I get rid of this freaking video so it stops asking for it?

(latest Pro Toos 12, Mac 10.11.5)
I've been asking for this for years:

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/...st/160741-3779

Your video is most likely part of a clip-group and has become offline. It's impossible to find or remove it unless you find and ungroup the clip-group that contains that clip. AT the moment there is no function in PT that will show you those clips. They will forever remain offline and "invisible" unless you find that parent group. Even more difficult to impossible to find if it's a group that's inside a group.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.5 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Compiling" multiple sessions into one "Master" session. Any pointers? Nollykin Tips & Tricks 17 12-09-2013 10:36 AM
Boot Screen "Not Recognized Video Hardware Connected", "video engine failed to init bcrichguitar macOS 3 04-01-2012 09:10 AM
"this session contains media that is not supported by the video peripheral" samplaire 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 24 08-25-2011 10:42 AM
PT9 Session Troubles - "Bus Error" in "Main Thread" & Could not complete the Open... tohmit macOS 5 03-23-2011 12:13 PM
If I "Remove Unused Regions" after "Consolidate", track won't play? el biciclista Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 04-02-2003 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com