Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-11-2020, 08:41 PM
Dj-Ike Dj-Ike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 235
Default Re: No AVB devices detected - S3

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsugi View Post
Hi,

Have you tried disabling SIP (System Integrity Protection)?
Tsugi Tsugi Tsugi You are a genius!!!!!! It worked
But, a word of caution to anyone else that needs to do this, or anything else in recovery mode...... Have an Apple mouse or trackpad ready. My Expert Mouse didn't work in recovery mode. Maybe hard wired will, but wireless didn't.
__________________
PT2020, Avid S3, LogicX, DP8, OS10.12.6, Mac Pro 2013 3.5GHz/32GB ram/SSD=14T, Macbook Pro 17" i7/16GB/4T Samsung EVO SSD, Yamaha 01V96i, Digi 003, UMC404HD, A.I.R., DSF Plugs, EW Collection, McDsp collection, Slate Digital collection, Softube collection, IK Multimedia Bundle, Komplete 11/12 Ultimate, Reason 11, Waves Mercury/SSL400/Abbey Roads, Wavearts5, Avox, NI S61+Maschine MKIII, Maschine Studio, DP8, Urei 1178, S760, Emu P2K, ect..
Music is the Message
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-13-2020, 12:39 AM
tsugi tsugi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Lesmahagow
Posts: 78
Default Re: No AVB devices detected - S3

It's a security setting to stop unpleasant downloads getting into the root system. It's only been around since 10.11

It is advised that it is left alone, but it is a workaround for the AVB situation, of which Avid are aware and are in communication with Apple. I disabled mine, as while the S3 was once again behaving as a DAW controller, the price tag seemed a bit high for that, and I really wanted it as an interface also! In addition to that, I am pretty restrictive in from whom I download things.

Reboot holding Cmd-R

In Utilities on the toolbar, open Terminal:

type csrutil disable
Hit Return and reboot.

To reset it, as above, but type csrutil enable

d
__________________
Cheers,
tsugi
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-13-2020, 03:19 AM
Dj-Ike Dj-Ike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 235
Default Re: No AVB devices detected - S3

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsugi View Post
It's a security setting to stop unpleasant downloads getting into the root system. It's only been around since 10.11

It is advised that it is left alone, but it is a workaround for the AVB situation, of which Avid are aware and are in communication with Apple. I disabled mine, as while the S3 was once again behaving as a DAW controller, the price tag seemed a bit high for that, and I really wanted it as an interface also! In addition to that, I am pretty restrictive in from whom I download things.

d
I totally agree with you that it is too expensive to be just a controller. I tried to re-enable SIP after the AVB came back, but the S3 disappeared again. Our only recourse is to leave it off. I too really try to be careful from where I download things. I really hope that Avid fixes this(and a few other bugs) soon. The S3 has been a really great interface for me, but it also would've been much better if it weren't flat. Hard to see the OLEDs. Thank for the solution.
__________________
PT2020, Avid S3, LogicX, DP8, OS10.12.6, Mac Pro 2013 3.5GHz/32GB ram/SSD=14T, Macbook Pro 17" i7/16GB/4T Samsung EVO SSD, Yamaha 01V96i, Digi 003, UMC404HD, A.I.R., DSF Plugs, EW Collection, McDsp collection, Slate Digital collection, Softube collection, IK Multimedia Bundle, Komplete 11/12 Ultimate, Reason 11, Waves Mercury/SSL400/Abbey Roads, Wavearts5, Avox, NI S61+Maschine MKIII, Maschine Studio, DP8, Urei 1178, S760, Emu P2K, ect..
Music is the Message
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-13-2020, 07:51 AM
tsugi tsugi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Lesmahagow
Posts: 78
Default Re: No AVB devices detected - S3

Yup - I love the S3: fader assignment has been a real joy in doing audio post with an uncluttered desk. The flat thing was a pain until...

https://www.mixingtable.com/wp-conte...S3-Lux-walnut-

https://www.mixingtable.com/avid-s3-lux
__________________
Cheers,
tsugi
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-13-2020, 01:27 PM
Dj-Ike Dj-Ike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 235
Default Re: No AVB devices detected - S3

Wow Tsugi, that MixDesk is exactly what I need. Thanks for sharing.
__________________
PT2020, Avid S3, LogicX, DP8, OS10.12.6, Mac Pro 2013 3.5GHz/32GB ram/SSD=14T, Macbook Pro 17" i7/16GB/4T Samsung EVO SSD, Yamaha 01V96i, Digi 003, UMC404HD, A.I.R., DSF Plugs, EW Collection, McDsp collection, Slate Digital collection, Softube collection, IK Multimedia Bundle, Komplete 11/12 Ultimate, Reason 11, Waves Mercury/SSL400/Abbey Roads, Wavearts5, Avox, NI S61+Maschine MKIII, Maschine Studio, DP8, Urei 1178, S760, Emu P2K, ect..
Music is the Message
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-13-2020, 11:19 PM
tsugi tsugi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Lesmahagow
Posts: 78
Default Re: No AVB devices detected - S3

Good stuff!Q
__________________
Cheers,
tsugi
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT III no TDM clock detected jammanis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-22-2011 02:50 PM
HDI/O detected as 192??? Biggreen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-27-2011 12:24 AM
no HW detected why? Joseph Vences 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-07-2009 08:26 PM
888/24 not detected thornlab Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-27-2008 09:10 PM
192 i/os not detected Howardk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-13-2005 09:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com